The Yurok Tribe had long lived along the banks of the Klamath River by the time European and American explorers found the waterway.
Those included a group of miners aboard the Cameo on its second voyage exploring the Northcoast in 1850.
The vessel docked and the group sought the mouth of the Klamath River, according to historical information from Redwood National and State Parks. The Yuroks helped the explorers across the river and the group claimed land on its south bank.
A gold rush to the region would disrupt salmon spawning in the waterway that the Yurok depended on.
The name Klamath comes from the word Tlamatl, that means swiftness in Chinook, according to www.Klamath-River.com, a Website on the waterway.