>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow News arrow Local News arrow Nine local races fill November ballot


Nine local races fill November ballot

The filing deadline for elections is over, and Del Norte is in for a full race come November.

According to the County Clerk’s Office, nine local races will be on the ballot, including a race for two seats on the Crescent City Council, three School Board trustee seats and two positions on the Del Norte County Library Board.

For the council, Hambro Forest Products CFO David Slagle, First Baptist Church Reverend Blake Inscore, Dragonfly Program Support Facilitator Joseph Aliotti and local business owner Dennis Sutton will by vying for incumbent Richard Enea’s seat, as well as for Councilwoman Kelly Schellong’s position. Schellong decided not to run this year to pursue other interests.

On the School Board, the trustee positions for areas 1, 2, and 5 are open. Incumbent Don McArthur will face off against Milton Reilley for Area 1; incumbent Lori Cowan and Angela Greenough for Area 2; and four candidates — Jamie Forkner, Verona “Ronnie” Sorensen, Beth Green, and Janet Wortman — are in the running for Area 5. 

Four people will also be running for two seats on the Library Board. Sutton, who’s also running for City Council and is looking to be reelected, will run against Angela Glore, Angela Stanley and Dean Valero. Trustee Jeannie Bishop, whose term is also up this year, won’t run again.

Additionally, Crescent City Sgt. Erik Apperson will face Sheriff Dean Wilson in the runoff for sheriff, and Judge Chris Doehle will face local attorney Darren McElfresh in the runoff for Del Norte Superior Court Judge.

Measures on the ballot include Measure F, a seven-year .25-percent sales tax increase that would fund a special district to oversee the fairgrounds, as well as Measure C, which would make the city clerk an appointed position and not an elected one. The measures need a two-thirds majority vote to pass.

Other local races include:

Del Norte County Fairgrounds

Robyn Holt

Sabina Renner

Douglas Wakefield

Steven Westbrook

Richard Wier

Jeffery Wolsfeld

Smith River CSD

Robert Dytewski

James Flowers

Jimmy Floyd

John Roberts

JoAnn Van Valkenburgh

Smith River Fire

Linda Crockett

Susan Ertell

Elaine Fallgren

James Flowers

William Gillispie

Fort Dick Fire

Matt Berry

Gary Emerson

Alex Fallman

Harlan Ziegler

Also, there are several uncontested races that won’t be on the ballot. Patrick Bailey and Ron Phillips will both run unopposed for reelection on the Harbor Commission and Carol Matthews is running for the College of the Redwoods trustee seat, which will be open when Rick Bennett retires. Other uncontested races include:

Healthcare District

Dwayne Reichlin

DNCO Healthcare

Terry McNamara

Klamath CSD

Margaret Caldwell

Carol Nova

Rhonda Wright

Klamath Fire

Eloisa Gaboni

Joan Fournier

Big Rock CSD

Charles Swenson

Craig Bradford

Crescent City Fire

James Erler

Beau Smith

David Short

Ft. Dick Fire

Gary Emerson

Alex Fallman

Harlan Ziegler

Reach Aaron West at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2015 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use