>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Nov. 9, 2013

Play about community evocative, worth seeing

I urge you not to miss Lighthouse Repertory Theatre’s “This is Crescent City.” We went last night and today I am still feeling the emotions evoked by this incredible musical.

It tells the story of us, of our town, our neighbors. What makes us not just the last town on the continent, or the first, but what builds us as community ... the human side of us.

I knew these stories intellectually, but it took seeing these performances to truly bring these lives into my heart. There weren’t many dry eyes last night. I never cry, ever, and I was sobbing last night. I am still feeling the effects today.

I want to stand on the S curves with signs urging everyone not to miss this home-grown story of our home.

Catherine O. Despres, Cresent City

Don’t let S curve veteran monument dream die

It must be over five years now since the city, through Police Chief Douglas Plack, approached the VFW about erecting a veterans monument at the “S” curve. There were committees formed and untold meetings — does it sound familiar so far? — with questionable progress.

I’m going to pat myself on the back here as I was the one who first gave $2,500 to kick-start the project. My intent was to get things started instead of just talking and planning.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 7, 2013

Citizens must signal disapproval of new law

When I first heard about the new California “transgender” law allowing mixed-sex use of school bathrooms, I viewed it as just another obscene joke from Los Angeles or San Francisco. Now I have learned that this institutionalized perversion will actually be implemented in Del Norte beginning Jan. 1.

I am not a native Californian, thank God, so perhaps I am not passive and indoctrinated enough to accept this in my adopted county without expressing my objections.

I would not think of advocating armed rebellion, of course, but I do hope at least a few parents will pull their children out of our failed public schools, and perhaps a mass refusal to pay the property taxes due next month would help to call attention to the urgent need to separate ourselves from Southern California and establish a new state of our own here.

John Cupp, Smith River

'Up our way' farther than many Californians think

We’ve discussed that Northern vs. Central California thing down here off and on. I’ve always related the story of (who knows how many) people I’ve bumped into from out of the area. When I tell them I’m from Eureka, the usual response is something along the line of, “That’s up by San Francisco, isn’t it?”


Letters to the Editor Nov. 5, 2013

Farm bill threatens poor families, could cost gov't

I am writing you with concerns about the farm bill going under review. A lot of people may not realize this, but the farm bill addresses stricter eligibility requirements to the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), known as CalFresh is California — also known as food stamps.

I read an article from the New York Times and CNBC about the budget cuts the bill suggests. Due to my professional experience with SNAP benefits I believe the program should have stricter eligibility requirements, but not necessarily the budget cuts that are being suggested.

Stricter eligibility requirements would hopefully, in time, reduce the program payout amounts as everyone knows about the economic hardships at this time. The New York Times reported that the bill suggests putting a time frame of three months on the program for each client.

I believe there are clients out there that need the benefits more than three months so putting a time frame on the program is not realistic or beneficial to the general population.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 2, 2013

Kudos for clearing brush from homeless camp

Good job to Crescent City for clearing the brush behind Safeway. The homeless can’t play hide and seek when they steal alcohol from Safeway. They will have nowhere to hide.

But knowing them, they will find another place to roost.

Tony Jacomella, Crescent City

Homeless run off land with nowhere to go

For years the community of Del Norte has not really realized how many homeless people there are in this community. I myself had become recently homeless within the last year due to being in an abusive relationship. My family basically gave up on me and my husband left for Nebraska and left me on the streets with nowhere to go.

Some very kind people took me in behind Safeway in the wilderness, gave me a place to stay, fed me, made sure I was warm with a blanket. I will be eternally grateful to these people, especially the man who started this camp. His name is Michael Myers, ironically. Now, after this man has been trying to help so many people, the government, or the state, says all the homeless people have to leave with nowhere to go.

These people are good human beings, just with no place to go. They help each other, they make sure you’re being fed, they protect each other, now they are being thrown out, into other communities with nowhere to go. Where is the justice in this?


Letters to the Editor Oct. 31, 2013

Local control key to hospital issue

Your Oct. 26 article, “Closer look at Critical Access,” seemed slanted in favor of the big money Bay Area administrator’s viewpoint. You quote a number of health industries employees without differentiating those whose bread is buttered in whole or in part by the large corporate interests.

Your use of average bed occupancy statistics is reminiscent of Mark Twain’s reference to “Lies, damned lies and statistics.” Average census figures mean a lot to the money managers, but little to the patient who needs help when the facility is at or above capacity.

It is a common strategy to attract a portion of an opponent’s position and leave the impression that you have shot down his whole argument. 

Your article fails to mention that the original point of dispute, which was whether or not highly over-paid money managers in the Bay Area would determine the fate of the hospital or whether the local medical community and the local hospital chief of staff, or for that matter, the local citizens, would have a voice. It all started when the local Board voted to disband in favor of regionalization. 

Maybe Critical Access would be a good thing for Del Norte, but that decision should come from those who will have to depend on the local resource. 

Dale Watson, Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Oct. 29, 2013

Obama not acting like commander in chief

Regarding Craig Johnson’s Oct. 17 letter, “Congress puts own goals ahead of nation’s welfare,” President Obama publicly announced he would not negotiate with Republicans in Congress and his Democratic followers don’t seem to have minds of their own.

Whether Democratic or Republican, they are supposed to be working for the best interest of the American people.

For example, when Nancy Pelosi said that they had to vote yes on Obama care and then they could find out what was in it. Really! Are those the people that are working for you and I? How do you vote on a law you don’t know anything about? Because Obama says so.


Letters to the Editor Oct. 24, 2013

Shame on Triplicate for covering family's trauma

My mom always told me that if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. I was thinking the Triplicate should adopt a policy of, “If you don’t have actual news to print, don’t print anything at all.”

I write because of the Oct. 19 article, “Man dies in an accidental shooting,” where the staff writer was at a loss for actual news so he felt it OK to write about the obvious trauma the family was dealing with.

Shame on you, Triplicate, for allowing your news to get away from substance to attract readers, instead relying on describing the obvious pain the family was feeling.

Steven Jackson, Crescent City

Council members should use pay cut to fund water

Writing about this water rate hike, I do not live in Crescent City anymore but do have a home there where I stay when I am there visiting, which is probably once a month if that. I may go down for the day and return home the same day I go to the house to leave my dogs, or visit with friends there.


Letters to the Editor Oct. 19, 2013

Council should look at its pay, instead of water rate 

Interesting Coastal Voices piece on Oct. 5 by Ron Gastineau, “Let’s get real: Water system is in jeopardy,” regarding a water rates increase.

Mr. Gastineau, if you and members of the City Council are so worried about a lack of money for your purposes, how come the City Council gave itself a pay increase?

Gracie Cooper, Crescent City

Editor’s note: City Council  members’ last raise came in January 2009, when it increased from $434.15 per month to $610.92.

Lack of leadership is the reason for water rate hike

I read in the paper about how the city is whining about how much they need the money and need to raise the water rates. This is a familiar refrain.

Remember when they needed to improve the sewer? They had to do it because our sewer was so old and in disrepair that we were getting fined. So they built a new sewer treatment plant instead of improving the old one. They said we needed to pay more on our rates and we do, but now I’m being told that they need even more money for the sewer on top of more for the water.


Letters to the Editor Oct. 17, 2013

Newspaper's priorities are astoundingly off-base

Again I’m astounded by the lack of good taste this newspaper has when reporting what’s newsworthy, regarding the Oct. 8 front page. 

First of all you’ve given top billing to some inmate who no doubt in my opinion deserves to be where he belongs (“The media and the SHU”).

Second, you’ve got three photographs, two of which depict an inmate in a well-deserved custodial type environment.

And thirdly, you’ve given a CR professor a small portion of the front page, which appears to be a horrific attack by a shark, second billing to some felon who in my opinion deserves to be where he is despite his obvious “please feel sorry for me” look for the Triplicate’s camera.

Thanks, Triplicate, for putting an inmate on the priority pedestal first, instead of a obvious law-abiding citizen whose tax dollars feed, cloth and house this (for the lack of a better word) person in our state penitentiary system.

Frank Villarreal, Cape Coral, Fla. 

Reporting on sex charges insensitive to the children

The Triplicate printed an article Oct. 10, “CC man faces sex crimes charges,” divulging details of the charges placed against a local man for child abuse.


Letters to the Editor Oct. 15, 2013

City must cut spending before seeking rate hike

I have to respond to the Sept. 28 Triplicate editorial, “Protest aside, what about our water?” How arrogant to try and make this protest about people not wanting to improve their water system.

When I read that people might be willing to pay more if blah, blah, blah, it made me mad. This is not about willingness, it’s about ability. What part of “can’t afford it” do you not get?

These people you think have no willingness already can’t make it month to month. It’s nice for you that these rate increases are not a concern, but in the area your paper serves, you are in the minority.

The Triplicate itself is an example of making the necessary changes to survive in this depressed economy. It made its paper smaller. It decreased publication from five days to three days. It cut back on its expenses. If it hadn’t, perhaps it would have had to close its doors.

Our city continues on its same path no matter the circumstances, like it’s 1993. It continues to raise salaries and pay the city attorney an annual increase. It’s paying its interim finance director $7,322 a month, plus a housing allowance of up to $2,000 per month. Champagne tastes and beer budget.


<< Start < Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next page > End >>

Results 136 - 150 of 1113

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use