>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google
Updated 3:10pm - Apr 16, 2014
Updated 3:46pm - Apr 15, 2014

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Dec. 18, 2012

Protect the children, but gun control won't work

Accompanying the article in the Dec. 15 Triplicate about the shootings in Newtown, Conn., was a highlighted article from the Associated Press headlined, “Shooting revives gun control debate.”

Well, that’s no surprise. Every time there is a shooting, the gun control crowd campaigns for more gun control laws. 

The senseless killing of 20 young children plus seven adults was an unimaginable evil act committed by an obviously disturbed “crazy” person. Such people, and acts, defy understanding by rational thought. I can not imagine anything harder to live with than losing your young child, especially by a senseless killing such as this.

What we need to do, what we all need to do, what this country needs to do, what our local government needs to do, what the school districts need to do is to protect the children. 

How best, exactly, to do that I really don’t know. But I know this: More gun control laws will not do it. More gun control laws will only make it a little harder for honest, sane citizens to protect themselves and their families. 

Remember the old bumper sticker cliche: “If you outlaw guns, only outlaws will have guns.”  It may be trite , but the logical truth of it is obvious.

Clif Shepard, Crescent City

 

 

Letters to the Editor Dec. 15, 2012

Godless intolerance no help for the homeless

Many people have problems with compassion and tolerance (“Homeless shelter failed, so let’s try bus tickets,” Dec. 13). These problems become obvious when they talk about the homeless.

God is loving, compassionate and tolerant to all. When these people discuss homelessness they are not living God.

God does not pick and choose who deserves compassion and tolerance. Many people think they speak for God and choose who deserves compassion and tolerance.

God is spiritual and our petty human beliefs have nothing to do with God. God is loving, kind, compassionate and tolerant, and material wealth means nothing to God.

If a homeless person lives God, that person is more worthy of God than those who judge the homeless. If we are truly living spiritual reflections of God, then our task is to learn how to reflect the attributes of God and serve God, not judge our fellows. 

Miriam Felt, Crescent City

Christ’s birth shows why to help homeless

Like many fellow Del Norters, my heart was warmed by the story “Secret Santa’s Big Gift,” Dec. 13. I would like to thank that kind individual for her generous gift to our community. You touched us all.

 

Letters to the Editor Dec. 13, 2012

How can Sutter Health continue stonewalling?

Sutter Coast Hospital has served our community for over 25 years. Another way of looking at that for me is that SCH has operated and managed a monopoly on health care in Del Norte County for over 25 years and that monopoly has included lucrative tax advantages.

Now, because of economic changes, the “powers that be” at Sutter Health, a not-for-profit organization, want to downsize our community hospital and limit access to local health care because, they say, of potential future financial losses.

I know the members of the Board are our community members too, and our neighbors. They care about health care in Del Norte and Curry counties as much as we all do. What I still don’t understand though is how, after almost a year of opposition to this “regionalization” business, the Board and “‘powers that be” at Sutter Health can continue to stonewall the community and refuse to engage requests for public information or question and answer sessions.

What do they have to hide? It seems at this stage, they are focusing more on the financial aspects for Sutter Health than our local community’s access to health care! Should regionalization go forward, Sutter Health will continue to prosper but our local health care will definitely suffer.

 

Letters to the Editor Dec. 11, 2012

Homeless shelter concept

The days of near-freezing weather, in addition to our famous rains, are soon to arrive. Sadly, and as it has always been, Crescent City and Del Norte County by and large lack emergency homeless shelters.

There are legal issues this city and county presently face anyway — over a fairly institionalized callousness that strongly works against the homeless. Many good folks and entities have tried to serve our homeless, but have, especially with respect to being able to provide consistent and well-run basic shelter, failed for one reason or another.

Yes, some groups give out food rations. Yes, vouchers for hotel stays are offered on occasion.

But these present as a whole, a very difficult and scattered approach, for a homeless person on foot, to manage. A thought occurred to me: Perhaps it is time for the wealthiest commercial businesses to partner up with the folks who’ve always tried so hard to provide shelter to the homeless, but for one reason or another, have yet to do what they dream of, having a permanent shelter with permanent funding.

 

Letters to the Editor Dec. 8, 2012

Hospital should look at expanding

Dr. Gregory Duncan, chief of staff at Sutter Coast Hospital, wrote a Dec. 1 Coastal Voices piece, “A closer look at Critical Access at Sutter Coast,” about the plight of our local hospital should an agreement not be reached with
Sutter Health, the parent company.

It’s very important to keep our local hospital intact with the number of beds needed to accommodate our community and the Emergency Room as a full-service department just the way it is, because our community so depends on it.

Lets use an analogy and compare it to Walmart. Look what its has done in its expansion. It also depends on business coming from a wide area, not just Del Norte County. Our hospital also has patients from this wide area, not just Crescent City.

 

Letters to the Editor December 6, 2012

Letter criticizing DA was right and long overdue

In her Dec. 1 letter, “Spare us DA’s ramblings,” Karen Olson is spot on, I’m glad someone finally spoke up and said what many of us are thinking.

It is very annoying to attend a public assembly and having the district attorney grab the microphone and give his standard spiel of what a great guy he is.

Jon Alexander, the election is over. The newsprint space the DA takes up with his opinion of what a great guy he is would be better utilized by your staff investigating subjects such as what happened to the fire tax we sent to Sacramento? Is there a chance it will be returned? What is the status of the lawsuit? How will the tax be spent? What is the status of the Assembly bill to repeal the tax? An Assembly bill was submitted, then the Assembly went on vacation just before this last election.

 

 

Letters to the Editor Dec. 4, 2012

Triplicate website not timely

The Triplicate guidelines for submitting a letter state that consumer complaints will not be accepted. I will let the editor decide if this letter is a consumer complaint.

I have lived in this county for more than two decades and have relied on the Triplicate to provide me with local news as well as national headlines.

I enjoy the articles written by local writers, I really miss Inez Castor. While I have never been a subscriber, as I did not want another plastic mailbox in front of my house for vandals to prey on, I do put coins in machines around town to buy editions that seem to have articles about something relevant that piques my interest.

 

Letters to the Editor Dec. 1, 2012

Spare us DA’s ramblings

Regarding the Nov. 10 Coastal Voices piece, “Storm damage pales in comparison to meth’s toll,” please, please, spare your readers from any further ramblings authored by District Attorney Jon Alexander.

His prose are merely self-serving, name-dropping drivel and far less than entertaining. We all know Jon is infatuated with himself and that his 50 kool-aid drinking followers are still blindly enamored.

But why continue to subject the rest of this community to such boring twaddle, spewed from a charlatan?

Karen Olson, Crescent City

Editor’s note: Karen Olson is a local attorney.

 

Letters to the Editor Nov. 24, 2012

Fire fee refund help needed

I am writing this letter as a public request for information about the Cal Fire fee that I paid last August.

I filled out a form to get a refund. I received an answer that my application was denied because I had gone beyond the time limit. I reread the statement and did not find any information about a time limit.

If anyone with a suggestion on a recourse of action, please contact me. My phone number is 464-2454. Thank you.

Robert Ames, Crescent City

 

Letters to the Editor Nov. 22, 2012

Rep.-Elect looks ahead

With the election over, I want to express my sincere gratitude to the more than 160,000 voters from throughout this great coastal district — from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Oregon border — who placed their trust and confidence in me to represent them in Congress.  

Our strong victories in both the primary and general elections wouldn’t have been possible without my first-rate campaign staff and the hundreds of volunteers and grassroots supporters who worked so hard on my campaign over the past eighteen months. My sincere thanks to all of you!

 

 
<< Start < Previous page 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next page > End >>

Results 181 - 195 of 1035

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use