>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google
Updated 11:00am - Nov 26, 2014

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor May 18, 2013

Dissolving Waste Authority expensive 

Something stinks in our county and it’s not coming from garbage. The push to dissolve and privatize the public agency that manages our trash by some supervisors makes no sense and is a really bad and ultimately expensive idea.

Our nearest neighbor, Curry County, privatized all of its solid waste handling, which has resulted in a steady increase in fees to their customers. This has been consistent with other communities in the nation that have done the same.

Is it any wonder that Curry residents travel to Del Norte’s transfer station to dump their trash? It’s certainly not to benefit from California’s high gas prices! 

What’s really behind this obsession to get rid of the Solid Waste Management Authority? After a one-year study by a public committee and then another year with 10 city and county officials forming a new board revisiting the issue, the authority received a satisfactory if not exemplary report card for its services … and no recommendation for dissolution or privatization.


Letters to the Editor May 16, 2013

Boston bombing shows need for tighter border

The Brothers Tsarnaev have just delivered a pressure cooked meal of steel to the streets of Boston America as groggy citizens  try to blink away incredulity from awe-struck eyes.

Images of corpses and shredded flesh  imbed on the national psyche as medical teams cart the human carnage away  to be swathed in yards of comfort cotton. The rigors of  sweating  flesh pounding miles of pavement ended with the  flash of  searing heat, and the marathon would never be the same.

Nor would America. Nor should America. It is so past time to review our immigration policy. What does it benefit America to keep up the literal river of humanity pouring into our increasingly impoverished nation? And what are our political leaders thinking by allowing immigrants of nations that continue to pronounce America as their mortal enemy?

Chechnya is a known cauldron of terrorist activism  directed more toward Russia than the U.S., but Islam is the driver  and the West  is radical Islam’s mortal enemy.

Let us not forget that 16 Chechan terrorists were apprehended after crossing our red carpet southern border in 2008 and they weren’t heading here for a picnic.

The immediate question is how many other terrorists have crossed that notoriously porous  border?

Not only are terrorists crossing into the U.S., but terrorist organizations have reportedly collaborated and colluded with the Mexican butchers whose penchant for violent terror makes them akin to the terrorists themselves.


Letters to the Editor May 14, 2013

We've gone extremely far from Constitution

I can’t help but wonder how many folks, besides myself, if any, have noticed how extremely far away from our Constitution and/or Bill of Rights we’ve gone?

We’ve gone so far that, in my opinion, the founding fathers would be ashamed!

Teri V. Markanson, Crescent City

Sheriff's oath precludes enforcing arms control

After rereading all of the many letters and opinions regarding Sheriff Wilson and the recent gun control legislation being considered at the state level, there seems to be several issues that remain voiceless.

Chief among them is a troubling detail that all elected official must give an oath of office once elected. That oath says that they will defend and support the Constitution of the United States which includes the Second Amendment regarding the right to bear arms. While the wording of that amendment could be subject to a wide range of interpretation, it is useful to understand why that amendment exists and how narrowly focused it was meant to be.

Within the melting pot of the formation of the Constitution, one of the greatest fears of the framers of that document was their perception of the historic growth in size and subsequent abuses of the many governments that proceeded our founding. As a result, much of the finished product was directed first at limiting government and then providing the citizenry with the means to resist all the way up to and including by force if necessary.


Letters to the Editor May 9, 2013

Kids homeschooling after racial bullying

I am a grandmother and grew up in the Arcata area. In the ’50s and ’60s it was not uncommon to hear of racial bullying.

I for one stuck up for the person being bullied. I thought as a country we had evolved to a better place dealing with racial issues. I taught my kids not to see color, just the person.

Now when I was told my grandkids were being racially bullied, I must admit I saw red. My grandkids are what I with lovingly call “Oreos,” they are black and white and sweet as can be!

My grandkids will be finishing out the school year being home-schooled because the kids calling them the “N” word and other nasty ignorant names people call black people are not being stopped. I have a gut feeling that this nasty little problem may have happened to other families in Del Norte.

If you are having these kind of problems call Superintendent Don Olson at the school district office.

Is our decline in school enrollment due to bullying problems at the schools? As a community we need to work to make our kids feel safe at school. No child should have to endure emotional or physical bullying. Remember these kids are our future.

Shirley Dollahite, Crescent City

Being policeman of world a corporate scam

It’s a crying shame this country has spiraled down to the level it is currently at. It started with the original illegal invasion of Iraq.


Letters to the Editor May 7, 2013

Looking back on time of crash and recovery

Aloha, our dear friends in Crescent City.

It has been almost a full year since a terrible car wreck in Houichi on May 20, 2012, aborted our six-month “Grandmothers Whisper” book tour, and nearly ended our lives.

A Triplicate reporter found us in the Sutter Coast Hospital, where my injuries were considerable after having been wedged between an intoxicated driver and a giant redwood.

She wrote: “Miller said she’s ‘truly blessed to be breathing,’ but also to be in such a ‘compassionate community.’ 

“Her husband said there’s been an outpouring of generosity from Del Norters: they have been offered homes to stay in and a car to drive (theirs was totaled).” 

We had travelled widely — 95,000 car miles in five years of speaking about the Native Hawaiian culture and sharing our book “Grandmothers Whisper.” We have found graciousness and generosity in many towns and cities. But the compassion we experienced in Crescent City, at a time when we were struggling, is unmatched.


Letters to the Editor May 4, 2013

Like sheriff, can the rest of us pick laws we obey?

I find it disgusting that Sheriff Dean Wilson is willing to push aside any attempt to make our communities even a tiny fraction safer by disregarding any forthcoming gun control legislation from the state.

We can’t just proclaim “2nd Amendment,” lower the flag to half mast every other week and carry on, business as usual. 

And if, indeed, Sheriff Wilson chooses which laws he’s going to enforce, can the rest of us choose which laws we’re going to obey?

Diane Blackberry, Crescent City

Gun opponents don’t care about anyone but selves 

Our sheriff is only trying to look out for everyone and protect all our rights as a whole. I wonder how many of you who are against what Sheriff Dean Wilson is doing are anti-ownership of firearms of any type?

Why should any of us suffer for the wrongdoing of others? I’ll bet no one has considered that golf clubs, baseball bats, kitchen knives and other items have been used to murder, to name a few. Let’s ban or put restrictions on them and start with single-swing golf clubs first.

Oh, you don’t like that because you have used them for golf? Well, how do you think those of us feel who have used our firearms for hunting or target shooting and never have harmed anyone with them? From the letters to the editor, you don’t care how anyone feels but yourself. How quick you are to turn on others when things don’t go your way.


Letters to the Editor May 2, 2013

Sheriff elected to enforce laws, not interpret them

I would like to respond in support of the excellent letter Lois Munson wrote in the April 25 paper (“Sheriff lacks authority to cherry-pick laws enforced”) regarding Sheriff Wilson’s comments. In the April 18 Triplicate, the sheriff stated that he would prosecute only matters which he feels are not against our constitutional rights as stated by the Second Amendment. 

The key word here is “his” interpretation. This decision is not up to him. We have rules in our democracy for changing laws that are not appropriate or no longer meet the needs of society and following that process is how we make change. We can’t just pick and choose which laws we will follow.

It is not Sheriff Wilson’s job to decide which laws he will uphold once the legislators pass a law. This is not the job of a sheriff in a rural community in California. He was elected to enforce the laws made by our government whether he agrees with them or not.

We all have to abide by laws and rules even if we do not like them. That is part of living in a civilized society. Maybe it is time for a new sheriff if our present elected official does not appear to want to honor the office that he was elected to.

Diana Clark, Crescent City


Letters to the Editor April 30, 2013

Schools not handling bullying sufficiently

I am writing in regards to the so-called change in the Del Norte Unified School District bullying policy. I thought in the beginning that the change was so spectacular. However in light of recent events at one of the schools here in Del Norte County, I seriously have my doubts.

My children are of a mixed ethnicity, and they are being called names that are racially driven, and nothing is being done. Unless you call having a child apologizing with no repercussions to his or her actions something.

This should not be tolerated in any form at any time, and should be grounds for suspension, for the first offense and continue to get more severe. I am appalled with the actions of the school and district on this matter.

I assure you if it continues I will seek legal counsel for my children and other ethnic children within this area.

Shawna Fairgood, Crescent City

Vehicles producing noise pollution

I must be so too old, because it’s too loud. I can’t be the only one who hears car stereos from too far away or the thump of off-road tires for blocks.

And how about that tuned exhaust that’s much louder than my neighbor’s log trucks? But I’m just sayin’.

Bill Cook, Crescent City


Letters to the Editor April 27, 2013

Clarification about grant program's condition

I am writing in regard to the April 22 article about the City of Crescent City’s decision to hire a Sacramento-based firm for Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) administrative services and the remarks made at the April 15 City Council meeting on which the article was based.

I would like to clear up any misconceptions about the financial condition of the CDBG program when my contract ended. I am not aware of, and cannot speak to the many non-CDBG grants administered by city staff, one of which may have $7,500 in excess expenditures.

At the time my contract ended, however, none of the CDBG grants for which I was responsible were either overspent or projected to be overspent. Administrative costs required to close out fully-expended CDBG grants are minimal and are chargeable to the administrative portion of those grants that remain open.

The CDBG program is sufficiently complicated that management and tracking of the multiple projects and funds are easily confused. I believe I was both diligent and successful in performing this task during my time with the city. 

Charlaine Mazzei, Crescent City

Let's choose a local physician for county post

The April 25 article about the county health officer (“Health officer residency raises spat”) should have included more information. 


Letters to the Editor April 25, 2013

Thanks for beautiful coverage of butterflies

The California Sister has been an old friend of mine for many years. Thank you for the beautiful photo in Saturday’s paper (“The forests on another scale: Butterflies and moths are indicators of habitat health within the region’s redwood parks”).

Mary Jean Goecker, Crescent City

Sheriff lacks authority to cherry-pick laws enforced

The information in the April 18 Triplicate informing us our sheriff will prosecute only matters which meet his, or the group he represents, interpretation of constitutionality certainly got my attention! (“Dems pushing for gun control: Wilson tells senators he would not enforce bill.”) 

I do not recall his campaign put forth the idea he would uphold only those laws meeting his understanding of the Constitution. I voted for Sheriff Wilson not as a constitutional expert, but to uphold the county, state and national laws on the books. We have rules in a democracy for changing laws that do not include elected officials deciding which are to be honored and which are to be ignored. Working for change is a long, difficult task, but if change is needed the process must be followed.


<< Start < Previous page 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next page > End >>

Results 211 - 225 of 1124

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use