>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor April 6, 2013

Too bad about N. Korea; didn't have to be like this

Well folks, here we go again. North Korea “dares” the United States to fear it by threats and televised parades of brainwashed students (God help them).

It’s awful enough that we, the U.S., had to destroy Hiroshima and Nagasaki in 1945 to finally stop a war against misguided fanatic patriots.

Now, like good parents do when their children are threatened by some young bully down the block, the U.S. has to call for a PTA meeting (in this case, possibly a global one!) and let bad parents know that their unruly kids need to be sent to their rooms and given a sound spanking.

Since North Korea has such bad parents, it is upon the U.S. to put our foot down. Too bad, it didn’t have to be this way.

Heidi Bauman, Crescent City

Abstaining on gun rights vote is cowardly way out 

As with any issue there are people on both sides, those for, and those against increased firearms restrictions. I personally don’t believe anyone should be punished because of the actions of others, and that includes gun owners. If someone uses a gun responsibly for hunting or target shooting they should not be punished because others use a gun to rob or kill.

There are many points that should be looked at, including judges not handing out more severe punishment for firearm crimes. It seems that most sentences for firearm crimes are mild if any at all. Of course not all judges are like that, but you might be surprised at the number that are. The national check system was invented by the NRA but was not put into effect as intended by the government.


Letters to the Editor April 4, 2013

Sullivan, Gitlin playing games with Authority

When will the soccer game end? The Triplicate’s March 26 editorial, “Will new Solid Waste Authority Board do its job?” did an excellent job of pointing out the problems with the membership of the authority.

For more than four years, Michael Sullivan has used the Solid Waste Authority as a soccer game with no real winners. Now it looks like Roger Gitlin has joined him.

These little games should end.

The Solid Waste Authority has to call for applications from the general public for the board’s fifth member. This member should be the voice of the community on the Solid Waste Board. Under the new memorandum of understanding that the city and county signed, they will have to vote for this public member. Maybe this will end the good old boy network appointment we saw of the last public member.

Having a true public member with full voting powers protects the general public. Also, it could end the political games that Sullivan and Gitlin may want to play. I want to thank my City Council members who showed leadership at the March 26 meeting. It is my hope people with an interest in solid waste will pick up applications at the transfer site.

Richard Miles, Crescent City

How will taking away my guns stop the crazies?

Down about 125 words into Linda LaMarr’s March 28 Coastal Voices piece about the supervisors’ resolution in support of the Second Amendment, she asks what is wrong with limiting magazine capacity and having background checks and tougher gun laws.


Letters to the Editor April 2, 2013

Trone leaving great mark on Warrior athletics

I would like to publicly thank Coach Dick Trone for the time and effort he puts into writing his weekly column “Warrior Memories” in the Triplicate. He does a fantastic job of educating the public on Warrior athletics both past and present.

I would also like to recognize and bring to everyone’s attention what a fine man and extraordinary coach/teacher Dick Trone is and was.

I was one of many fortunate athletes that passed through Del Norte High that was able to be influenced by his special coaching ability.

Coach Trone had a style of coaching that brought out the best in every individual he tutored. Not once did I ever hear Coach Trone raise his voice, use profanity in his teaching or demean an athlete in any way. He had the special ability of making everyone feel important, and that was true for athletes that played every play and ones that didn’t see the field as much.

Oftentimes when we see a coach use unacceptable behavior such as profanity and demeaning actions toward the individuals they oversee, we can conclude their inappropriateness is an attempt to mask the insufficiencies they have as a coach.

Coach Trone didn’t have any weaknesses a coach. He’s bright, well versed and a master teacher who had discipline and great respect from those he taught.

Thank you, Coach Trone, for the mark you’ve left on Warrior athletics and for all the lives you touched. You are a tremendous man and have made a difference in many lives.

Terry Vance, Crescent City 


Letters to the Editor March 30, 2013

Owner explains issues with Ruth Compound

Some truth about the Ruth Compound (“Woman, 24, is killed in fire”): The county fails to get scum people from living in the area. I own Dan Ruth’s old property. No one paid a half-million dollars to clean anything over there on my part of the land.

We have every scumbag coming out there dumping trash and the blight office is a joke, failing to remove or arrest or enforce the law. Anyone out there is trespassing if they don’t own property. I cannot use my property because of stealing, illegal dumping and so on.

Let’s all flood (code enforcement office Dave) Mason with complaints, as I have for years.

Who do I sue for allowing this?

Jason Anderson, Crescent City

 

 


Letters to the Editor March 28, 2013

Honoring public safety workers important event

One of the truly significant events in Del Norte County is the annual celebration held at Crescent City’s Cultural Center and hosted by the Law Enforcement Administrators of Del Norte County to highlight the outstanding services of those who protect the general public (meaning you and me) from evildoers (“Honors for our officers,” March 21).

The organizations involved are the county Sheriff’s Department, the city Police Department, the District Attorney’s Office, local Search and Rescue, Pelican Bay State Prison, the California Highway Patrol and the county Probation Department.

Hundreds of people attended this important presentation March 19, among them the families of our law enforcement community that support and regularly sacrifices to make life safer for the rest of us. The city of Crescent City was well represented by four of the five City Council members — Kelly Shellong was noticeably absent — and also present were Gene Palazzo (city manager) and our superb chief of police, Doug Plack.


Letters to the Editor March 26, 2013

Historical perspective on parties

A March 16 letter from Heidi Bauman, “Tired of Dem-bashing; like dog park proposal,” shows that she may be too young for historical perspective.

For over 50 years I learned that both parties are about the same and so I became an Independent.

At 84, I remember they passed Social Security in 1936 and all Republicans were against it. The same happened in 1955 for Medicare; they opposed it also and then they use both benefits after 65.

Congress hates our good economy, when everything was made in the United States and of good quality. In 1980 it began sending factories to China and other countries.


Letters to the Editor March 23, 2013

During awards, where were other supervisors?

Tuesday evening, the very best of our community were honored at the Cultural Center as the Law Enforcement Administration of Del Norte County honored those who have gone beyond the point of just doing their jobs.

I was in the audience of several hundred as Pelican Bay, the California Highway Patrol, Probation, Search and Rescue, Sheriff’s Office and Crescent City Police Department were shown the community’s appreciation with the presentation of plaques.

I saw Mayor Rich Enea, City Council members Ron Gastineau, Rick Holley and Kathryn Murray, and City Manager Eugene Palazzo.

I noted there was only one representative from the county in attendance: Supervisor Roger Gitlin. Where were the other supervisors? Is this event so unimportant to them, they don’t even bother to show up?

I am embarrassed by the absence of most of the Board of Supervisors. Supervisors Martha McClure, David Finigan, Gerry Hemmingsen and Mike Sullivan, you ought to be ashamed of yourselves.

Randy Christoffersen, Crescent City

Amazed at hypocrisy of local district attorney

Hypocrisy knows no limits. In these last few days before the Bar decides the fate, career-wise, of our local district attorney, I sit in absolute amazement of his hypocritical outlook.


Letters to the Editor March 21, 2013

Regionalization, rural population a lethal mix

I attended the meeting for the proposed regionalization of Sutter Coast hospital. I also read the story of the same meeting (“The doctor makes his case,” March 14). The meeting was hosted by Dr. Greg Duncan chief of medical staff at Sutter Coast Hospital. It was a very good meeting, very informative and well presented.

Nowhere in either venue was the impact on the local community residents mentioned. Del Norte County is composed of many small, isolated communities, 20 or more miles from Sutter Coast Hospital. In the event of a medical emergency, the first responders are the local volunteer fire department or the Yurok tribal emergency response team. If it is determined that further treatment is needed, an ambulance is called or the patient is transported by private auto.

Under  regionalization, it’s possible there would fewer beds available for emergencies. If the beds were all in use, then the patient would have to be moved to another hospital. In our remote area, that would mean going east, north or south. All of the choices are 50 to hundreds of miles from Crescent City.

The expense of surface ambulance or air transport will be hundreds of dollars. This expense will fall on the patient or family of the patient. Most of our residents are on a fixed income and the expense will be overwhelming.


Letters to the Editor March 19, 2013

What is wrong with affirming gun rights?

In response to Richard Wendt’s March 12 letter, “More important issues than grandstanding vote,” I want to thank Supervisor Roger Gitlin for asking members of the Board of Supervisors to affirm their belief that the 2nd Amendment is important to assure American citizens have the right to own weapons without all the creative ways liberals are trying to impede our rights of ownership.

The question that comes to mind is: Since there is no harm in affirming this Amendment, why the hesitation? This “president” has no qualms in cherry-picking this amendment as the one to destroy.

Remember Fast and Furious? This “president” refuses to allow the investigation to follow a natural course to determine who is responsible for several thousand guns going from Arizona to Mexico, killing a Border Patrol agent and hundreds of Mexicans.

I understand each elected official took the oath to uphold the Constitution but that is a general oath. By specifying the 2nd Amendment the oath becomes specific and personal. Refusing to affirm this right may put into question how strongly Supervisor Martha McClure’s belief in ownership of guns by Americans may be.

Why this is grandstanding is beyond me. I have yet to see Supervisor Gitlin do any grandstanding. He has asked honest questions and is a breath of fresh air on the Board of Supervisors.

Marlowe Thompson, Crescent City


Letters to the Editor March 16, 2013

Tired of Dem-bashing; like dog park proposal

Since Americans do have the right to voice their opinions, here’s mine: I’m tired of Democrat-bashing.

Just because things aren’t changing quickly enough for some folks, and just because Edward Kennedy isn’t alive anymore, doesn’t mean that President Obama isn’t an intelligent, thoughtful human being doing much better than “Mitt” would’ve.

It’s awfully hard to change eight years of damage caused by that dolt, G.W. Bush.


<< Start < Previous page 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next page > End >>

Results 226 - 240 of 1123

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use