>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor March 9, 2013

Aim is to make country safer, not take rights 

I watched the Feb. 26 supervisors meeting where our Board chose to pass a resolution supporting and upholding the Second Amendment. I am unclear what this resolution accomplished because no one has taken away your Second Amendment rights nor will anyone take them away. It seemed redundant to me to even bring up a resolution like this.

The folks who spoke at the meeting, except for the first gentleman and Supervisor Martha McClure, are missing the point of what the government is trying to do with the new gun control laws. It is not trying to take away your Second Amendment rights; it is trying to make this country safer and possibly prevent more horrific mass killings.

Mrs. McClure’s example of the banning of tommy guns was excellent. These guns were being used by the mafia to kill citizens instead of using them to kill rodents, which was their original intent when they were given to farmers after the war. Thus, when they were repurposed to kill citizens, they were banned by the federal government. Who could be against banning the use of these guns in our civilized society?

That is what our government is attempting to do: Remove the dangerous, unnecessary weapons from society and keep them out of the hands of unbalanced individuals who should not have access to firearms of any kind.

Another individual at the meeting brought up drunk driving and how successful the campaign to stop drunk driving has been. He said one individual changed the laws for this heinous crime. Now look how many lives have been saved!

Maybe, by having universal background checks or changing the availability of rifles only necessary during war, we could save lives, too. The purpose of such actions is not to take away your Second Amendment rights, but to protect the right of all citizens to remain unharmed in public places. That is the goal here.


Letters to the Editor March 7, 2013

Does anyone other than Sutter execs want this?

I would like to thank our local hospital board for its three separate votes in favor of regionalization, and its consideration of cutting the hospital in half to qualify for higher Medicare reimbursement under the Critical Access program.

You have done what has been considered impossible. You have united the Tea Party with the Democratic Party. The Independents and Republicans are on board too. You have united liberals with conservatives, city government with county government, and lawyers with doctors. Young people and senior citizens also see this the same. You have united Oregon government officials with California government officials, Curry County residents with Del Norte County residents. Our local Board of Supervisors is also united.

The creative talents of all the above are now working together to overturn your decision on regionalization, and block the move to Critical Access.

You cannot answer the simple question of how Critical Access will improve health care in Del Norte and Curry counties.

If you were to talk to Asante about running the hospital, instead of Sutter Health, there would be a shout of joy that would carry from here to Sacramento to Salem, Ore.

Please consider Asante. Sutter Health has lost all trust with the local community.  Ask your neighbors and people that visit your business their opinion.

If anyone reading this letter wants to have a say in this issue, share your opinions with the local board members. Critical Access would reduce our hospital from 49 beds to a maximum of 25 beds, resulting in a loss of hospital employees and a large number of patient transfers — mostly by air — to other hospitals.

Does anyone other than Sutter executives want this?

Jim Buckles, Crescent City


Letters to the Editor March 5, 2013

Democrats grease palms of rich even more than GOP

Your chosen cartoon for the Feb. 28 edition was disgusting! Cartoons should be to poke fun/make a political point, but you have chosen, instead, to toe the Obama line and paint Republicans as only interested in the “rich” at the expense of the rest of us.

 You know this is blatantly false, and you know that the Democrats grease the palms of the “rich” probably even more, as evidenced by the last election.

Let’s show a little class and get down to the truths of what we must do to save this nation. Politics ad infinitum just won’t do it. 

God bless America and whatever great leaders may be still in hiding. Let’s get positive and find solutions!

Lilyan Wood, Crescent City

Lack of judgment in letting accused officer work

I recently heard from a friend of mine in county government that the chief probation officer has returned to his work, despite being charged with embezzling law enforcement training funds to fund a gambling habit (“Still a defendant, official reinstated”).

It shows an amazing lack of good judgment on the part of the Board of Supervisors. If he is convicted, the issue may be admissible in any case in which he is called as a law enforcement witness, because embezzlement is a crime of moral turpitude. It shows a lack of honesty and trustworthiness.

It is fine to be on administrative leave until the case reaches a verdict, but it undermines confidence in the justice system to reinstate him to his duties, and Supervisor Hemmingsen’s comment that it’s just like getting a speeding ticket is ridiculous.

Lathe Gill, Santa Rosa


Letters to the Editor March 2, 2013

Reflection on Board vote to support 2nd Amedment

Tuesday’s meeting of the Board of Supervisors featuring Supervisor Roger Gitlin’s Resolution No. 2013, the solicitation of official Del Norte County support for the 2nd Amendment, evoked memories of recent local “Save Our Hospital” rallies wherein local citizens have rallied in large numbers to a perceived threat to a highly valued aspect of our community consciousness.

Attendance was standing-room-only as speakers queued up to the podium to share their impassioned support of the resolution to preserve our rights to bear arms, as propounded by the 2nd Amendment.

The lone dissenter questioned the necessity and advisability of the resolution by poking Mr. Gitlin in the eye with his implied suggestion that it was conceived as a political tool to be used against any of Supervisor Gitlin’s opponents, whomever that might be. That implication in itself, relying as it does solely on conjecture and convoluted logic, seems to me to be an attempt to blunt the effect of the resolution and an affront to Supervisor Gitlin.

Supervisor Martha McClure’s admission of being a member of the American gun culture by stating she has the dreaded G-things herself is somewhat akin to Sen. Feinstein’s recent admission to having possessed a CWC at one time herself. That seems a frail effort to present a much broader view than us ordinary gun-toters in that they have a broader perspective of it all by at once being one of us while owning the broader view of seeing the need for ever- tighter controls.

Supervisor McClure’s wriggling out of the position of simply taking a forthright position of support for the 2nd Amendment by claiming such action constitutes “cherry-picking” the amendments is paper thin and her position on the fence advisedly unstable; remember Humpty Dumpty sat atop a wall.


Letters to the Editor Feb. 28, 2013

Patriots to fend off military when Obama orders attack

It would have been nice to see a picture or a mention of Steve Berg’s performance at DNACA’s fundraiser along with the other photos (“The Locals,” Feb. 26). Steve is a Del Norte musical icon, known by many, loved by several.

It’s too bad he didn’t get to join in the last number with what I call the Addie Meedom House Bearded Men’s Chorus. He would have added some youthful verve.

But I did appreciate the news of Roger Gitlin’s edifying resolution to support the Second Amendment to protect ourselves against a tyrannical government run amok (“Gun-rights resolution goes before supervisors,” Feb. 26).

When President Obama’s secret plan to destroy America is revealed, Mr. Gitlin and his fellow patriots will be there with their Cabela’s camos and their 30-round clips to hold off the Army, the Navy, the Air Force and the Marines.

This is America — where small minds can still dream big.

Roger Vance, Crescent City

Editor’s note: A photo of Steve Berg appeared in a Feb. 14 preview story, “Event features six local acts.”

People must not be silent about assault on freedoms

A public thanks to the supervisors of Del Norte County who voted to pass a resolution in support of the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution, and a special thanks to Supervisor Roger Gitlin, who introduced the motion.

Many local citizens attended the board meeting to voice their concerns of government attempts to curtail
individuals’ right of gun ownership. Some took the position of “what’s the point?” They seemed to believe amendments to the Constitution are unassailable and will stand without our support. 

Nothing could be further from the truth. When we the people remain silent as the government grows stronger to suppress and control, our freedoms will certainly suffer. If the resolution only serves as a message to the powers that be, a statement, “We will not relent,” in the defense of our freedoms, then it is of immense importance. 

Again, thanks to our local leaders who discarded personal bias, if having any, and listened to the voices of their constituents. You have demonstrated democracy is practiced in our county even though it is under assault in our country.

Steve O’Dell, Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Feb. 23, 2013

Crime seem to be more prevalent in Del Norte

I have lived in Del Norte County since 1960 and worked here for almost 40 years. It was such a wonderful place to be in until all this crime and corruption started. I can’t say when, but I believe it has been going on for quite some time now. 

If you read the Triplicate, you will see what I mean. Read the police and sheriff logs, not to mention News of Record. I know that these crimes go on everywhere, but it appears to be so widespread in this small county.

Which brings up another topic I would like to speak about. After dark if you happen to be in the city limits, it is quite bright with all the street lights on. However, if you are outside those limits, it is quite the opposite. The county streets have no lights and most of them are so dark you can hardly see anything. 

Maybe it is a coincidence, but it appears that most of the burglaries and car break-ins, etc., happen outside of the city limits. To me it appears that the city is more financially stable than the county.

What do ya’ll think?

Georgina Larsen, Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Feb. 21, 2013

Real story of steer that survived flood of 1964

Regarding my Feb. 12 Coastal Voices piece, I would like to make a correction to the headline, “The real story about tsunami-swept steer.”

The steer did not survive the tsunami of 1964, but did survive the flood that happened in December of 1964. Both were equally devastating, but he did live in Klamath, which was completely destroyed by the flood.

Larry Bush, Tillamook, Ore. 

Services are available or veterans and their family

If you are a veteran, the spouse, widow/widower, or the child of a veteran and need assistance with VA benefits, or VA-provided health care, the Disabled American Veterans organization is here to assist you free of charge.

You do not have to be a member of the DAV to receive our assistance. We are veterans service officers that are trained and certified yearly by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs and bonded by the Disabled American Veterans. We can assist veterans and their families anywhere regardless of the state they live in, where they receive their VA health care, or where their claims are being processed.


Letters to the Editor Feb. 16, 2013

CC’s isolated hospital should not be downsized  

Sutter Health’s decision to regionalize (taking ownership of our hospital) would make it easier to turn our hospital into a critical care hospital, and that would be a very bad decision for our community.

Down-sizing to a critical care hospital would be particularly difficult for the needs of our elderly and low-income, especially if transported out of our area.

Crescent City is isolated and needs more and better health care.

Sutter Health as a not-for-profit organization should be concerned more about us and our health care than more profit for itself. Its decision to regionalize is really about money, not health care!

Jackie Simonsen, Crescent City

Grave concerns about hospital regionalization

The talk of “regionalization” and turning Sutter Coast Hospital into a critical access designation is alarming to people living in Del Norte and Curry counties.

Our grave concerns are for the following reasons:

• Reducing the number of beds to 25 (actually 22) would result in patients being transferred to hospitals in San Francisco and elsewhere that would be miles away.


Letters to the Editor Feb. 14, 2013

Odd that American Indian Warrior mascot off limits

I hope we can chose a new inspiring mascot we can identify with while instilling pride and unity.

Sometimes an obvious identification is rightfully rejected because of the negative connotations that come with it. Germantown, Penn., is a good example. Some years ago, it banned all references to American Indians among its district schools. In response, it is notable that although the Germantown name has a natural affiliation, no mascot was chosen such as: Nazis, Jackboots, Storm Troopers, Brown Shirts, SS, or Gestapo.

We would be outraged to have our team called by any of those names. And rightfully so. It just seems odd to me that our American Indian Warrior mascot must be placed among the do-not-use list along with those names that provoke disgust or shame.

All this politically correct progressiveness first came to my attention in the ’70s when Stanford University decided it was offensive to have an American Indian as a mascot.  A tsunami of the perpetually aggrieved seemed to follow, determined to set straight the minds of all those who caused offense, as long as they could decide the terms, define the words and be the arbiters of what could and could not be allowed to stand.

I am Irish, though not Catholic, but identify with the Fighting Irish of Notre Dame football. The desire to avoid all offense can get ridiculous though. We already have the Santa Cruz Banana Slugs. A new school in Canyon, Utah, was turned down for the selection of a cougar as a mascot. It might offend mature women. Maybe we should target Crescent Elk next.

Many of the athletes in our community, seeking a source of pride, not mockery or derision, have American Indian motifs on their letterman’s, not some insipid flaming W. 


Letters to the Editor Feb. 9, 2013

Reasons why hospital should remain as it is

Sutter Coast Hospital should stay as it is, not be made into just a critical care center. My husband and I retired to Crescent City in 1998 from Sacramento, and the one thing we looked for was a decent hospital in this area and some good doctors.

If our hospital is not making enough money to suit the controllers in the Bay Area, they should sell it to Asante or another group that can make it
work.

People in Crescent City cannot afford to travel to Eureka or Medford for care they cannot get from our local hospital.

Also, this hospital takes care of Pelican Bay prisoners when there is a knifing or something that cannot be handled there.

Just because this is a small county does not mean we don’t need a hospital that can accommodate its citizens.

In San Francisco and in Sacramento, they have so many hospitals a person has no worry about the care they receive.

We need our hospital and our doctors in this area. 

Faye Daly, Crescent City

We were sold a bill of goods on treatment plant

I believe we were sold a bill of goods over our wastewater treatment plant all along. Now the city has to face facts and tell the users the truth. We were told that we had to build our high-tech plant vs. the low-tech plant using the old mill ponds behind Safeway.


<< Start < Previous page 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next page > End >>

Results 226 - 240 of 1111

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use