>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Nov. 15, 2012

Devious anti-fluoridation unfair to county residents

I’m worried about fluoridation being taken away from a whole county’s municipal water supply.

It is unfortunate that Measure A passed, for it is impossible to prove a negative thing — that present fluoridation was not toxic or harmful. That is what Measure A has demanded of the company that makes the once-added hydrofluorosilicic acid. It is devilishly clever; yet very self-serving to put upon an entire county the desires of about 500 or so citizens who voted to eliminate fluoride from our drinking water (if supplied to your home by the city water system). 

 


Letters to the Editor November 8, 2012

'Fix-it' man could take a lesson from 'Tool Time'

Should we all be singing the lollipop song? Are the good munchkins of Crescent City singing because the wicked witch is dead? I for one will miss Donna Westfall at the City Council meetings. My hope is that our City Council will come together to fix the many problems facing the city.

Next, there is Roger Gitlin, the “fix-it” man. I hope people will remember “Tool Time” Tim Allen. I hope Roger will develop a good toolbox. He’ll need it.

 


Coastal Voices: Story behind ice plant

In reference to the article in the Sept. 11, 2012, edition of the Del Norte Triplicate concerning the removal of the Del Norte Ice and Cold Storage building, the newspaper did not attempt to report any real history of the local facility.

As important to the community in personal and public service, both to the commercial and general public, Del Norte Ice and Cold Storage was a success story of the blood, sweat and hardships that go into creating a growing business.

Bonnie Adams, the owner of a personal care business, is the last of the original family that started and built the cold storage business over several years, beginning in 1938. Her father, Art Ames, came to Crescent City from Salinas at the encouragement of a refrigeration equipment supply company in San Francisco.

 


Letters to the Editor Oct. 30, 2012

Gitlin's conservative views the reason I support him

I am writing this letter to express my support for the candidacy of Roger Gitlin for the 1st District of the Del Norte County Board of Supervisors. I have known Roger for a number of years and will speak of his positive attributes that he will apply to this important position, rather than the name-calling and labeling that I have surprisingly been observing lately in letters to the Editor.  Please note that the vast number of letters that oppose Roger spend a lot of effort denigrating him and very little space speaking of positive qualities of his opponent, except to note that she has been a long-time resident of this County.

I have long been aware of Roger’s opinion pieces that have appeared in various blog sites and basically agree with most of his conservative views on the offensive expansion of government upon our personal lives. I support his position on personal responsibility, freedom of choice, opportunity and beliefs. Calling him names for positions he takes is a common tactic used by people unable to defend policies and actions or lack thereof by those they chose to support for political office.


Letters to the Editor Oct. 6, 2012

McNamer will honor the
non-partisan nature of office

Why is it the Republicans are making such a stink about Leslie McNamer associating with all parties, Republican, Democrats, decline-to-state, etc.?

This is a non-partisan position and she does work with all parties, not just her affiliation party.

We don’t need someone in the position of supervisor that will not give equal importance to constituents that are not of his party.


Letters to the Editor Oct. 27, 2012

Question about Alexander bar trial

I saw the Oct. 23 article, “DA on stand in SF,” and Jon Alexander’s testimony.

How did Michelle Taylor “barge” in when the DA’s Office is a locked and secured office?

Why, if he had her attorney’s permission to speak to her, did he have to ask if she had an attorney?

Michael Riese, Crescent City 

Editor’s note: Michael Riese is a former Del Norte County district attorney.


Letters to the Editor October 25, 2012

If Asante keeps hospital improving, go with them

Sutter Coast Hospital gives outstanding care just the way it is. If, to keep doing this or keep improving means going with Asante, then this is what they should do.

In July 2010, my husband was in ICU. The hospital allowed the nurses and doctors who were Christian to pray with us and they prayed for him. He was in a coma but they treated him as if he was awake because they said, “The last thing to go is hearing.”

They talked to him, when time allowed sat and held his hand. When it was time to let him go the doctor prayed with us and with him. I’ve never felt such peace.

 


Letters to the Editor October 18, 2012

Gitlin's intolerance will not work well in county

I would like to comment on the candidacy of Roger Gitlin for a seat on the Del Norte County Board of Supervisors.

I want to thank Lorenza Lopez for her letter to the Triplicate (“More examples of Gitlin’s radicalism,” Oct. 11) and for doing the research I was too lazy to do. I have confirmed her web reference.

Have you ever had to apply for food stamps to help feed your family? Have you ever had to apply for Medi-Cal (Medicaid) so your family could receive necessary health care? Have you ever had to live on unemployment for an extended period because you could not find work?

Have you ever applied for a Pell Grant so you could afford to attend college? Do you receive veterans’ benefits because your military service left you with a physical or mental disability? Do you want these benefits to be available to family or friends in case they need them?

 


Letters to the Editor October 16, 2012

DA should be disbarred

Here are excerpts from a letter we wrote to the State Bar in support of disbarment of Jon Alexander: 

We have witnessed Mr. Alexander since his campaign and throughout his career as the district attorney of Del Norte County. 

During his campaign, we witnessed several inappropriate actions. But since he has become the DA, we find his actions highly inappropriate and feel the Bar should be aware of those actions.

Mr. Alexander is purely out for his self-promotion. He has brought shame, disgrace and embarrassment upon the justice system and this small community. His letters to the editor, his grandstanding, are all self-serving.

 


Letters to the Editor Oct. 13, 2012

Hypocritical of Gitlin
to call Dems leeches 

Thank you for printing supervisor candidate Roger Gitlin’s enlightening revelation that leeches, moochers, victims and entitlement-seekers form the voting base of the Democratic Party.

Wow; who knew? All those leeches who own stock in oil companies receiving government subsidies are Democrats? And every moocher who ranches or farms and receives government cash and/or grazing/water subsidies is a Democrat as well?

What about the victims who have government-insured mortgages and/or savings accounts; Demos too, you say?

 


<< Start < Previous page 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next page > End >>

Results 256 - 270 of 1098

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use