>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Dec. 1, 2012

Spare us DA’s ramblings

Regarding the Nov. 10 Coastal Voices piece, “Storm damage pales in comparison to meth’s toll,” please, please, spare your readers from any further ramblings authored by District Attorney Jon Alexander.

His prose are merely self-serving, name-dropping drivel and far less than entertaining. We all know Jon is infatuated with himself and that his 50 kool-aid drinking followers are still blindly enamored.

But why continue to subject the rest of this community to such boring twaddle, spewed from a charlatan?

Karen Olson, Crescent City

Editor’s note: Karen Olson is a local attorney.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 24, 2012

Fire fee refund help needed

I am writing this letter as a public request for information about the Cal Fire fee that I paid last August.

I filled out a form to get a refund. I received an answer that my application was denied because I had gone beyond the time limit. I reread the statement and did not find any information about a time limit.

If anyone with a suggestion on a recourse of action, please contact me. My phone number is 464-2454. Thank you.

Robert Ames, Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Nov. 22, 2012

Rep.-Elect looks ahead

With the election over, I want to express my sincere gratitude to the more than 160,000 voters from throughout this great coastal district — from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Oregon border — who placed their trust and confidence in me to represent them in Congress.  

Our strong victories in both the primary and general elections wouldn’t have been possible without my first-rate campaign staff and the hundreds of volunteers and grassroots supporters who worked so hard on my campaign over the past eighteen months. My sincere thanks to all of you!

 


Letters to the Editor Nov. 17, 2012

Why I'm a Republican and why Dems make trouble

A very good friend who just happens to be a Democrat asked me recently after the (thank God it’s over) election, “Why are you a Republican?” which made me start thinking, why am I a Republican? After some thought I came up with my answer. 

Do you wonder why we have to stop working on our harbor by Nov. 15
and can’t start again until June? (Where’s our resident costal commission person?) Do you wonder why
we cant dredge our harbor, and if and when we are allowed to we have to barge all the dirt from here to off of Eureka? 


Letters to the Editor Nov. 10, 2012

In disaster's wake

We’ve suffered a national disaster, which is still going on with snow on top of all else. Have any countries offered assistance? We should still help others, when we can, but it’s interesting that we stand alone? I’m still hopeful for our nation and praying that Obama and our nation are able to solve our many problems; if we all work together, we can do it! Good thoughts to all as we give thanks for having been blessed by being born Americans. Let us focus on what we have, not on what we don’t, and as JFK said, “Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country.” 

California Martin, Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Nov. 15, 2012

Devious anti-fluoridation unfair to county residents

I’m worried about fluoridation being taken away from a whole county’s municipal water supply.

It is unfortunate that Measure A passed, for it is impossible to prove a negative thing — that present fluoridation was not toxic or harmful. That is what Measure A has demanded of the company that makes the once-added hydrofluorosilicic acid. It is devilishly clever; yet very self-serving to put upon an entire county the desires of about 500 or so citizens who voted to eliminate fluoride from our drinking water (if supplied to your home by the city water system). 

 


Letters to the Editor November 8, 2012

'Fix-it' man could take a lesson from 'Tool Time'

Should we all be singing the lollipop song? Are the good munchkins of Crescent City singing because the wicked witch is dead? I for one will miss Donna Westfall at the City Council meetings. My hope is that our City Council will come together to fix the many problems facing the city.

Next, there is Roger Gitlin, the “fix-it” man. I hope people will remember “Tool Time” Tim Allen. I hope Roger will develop a good toolbox. He’ll need it.

 


Coastal Voices: Story behind ice plant

In reference to the article in the Sept. 11, 2012, edition of the Del Norte Triplicate concerning the removal of the Del Norte Ice and Cold Storage building, the newspaper did not attempt to report any real history of the local facility.

As important to the community in personal and public service, both to the commercial and general public, Del Norte Ice and Cold Storage was a success story of the blood, sweat and hardships that go into creating a growing business.

Bonnie Adams, the owner of a personal care business, is the last of the original family that started and built the cold storage business over several years, beginning in 1938. Her father, Art Ames, came to Crescent City from Salinas at the encouragement of a refrigeration equipment supply company in San Francisco.

 


Letters to the Editor Oct. 30, 2012

Gitlin's conservative views the reason I support him

I am writing this letter to express my support for the candidacy of Roger Gitlin for the 1st District of the Del Norte County Board of Supervisors. I have known Roger for a number of years and will speak of his positive attributes that he will apply to this important position, rather than the name-calling and labeling that I have surprisingly been observing lately in letters to the Editor.  Please note that the vast number of letters that oppose Roger spend a lot of effort denigrating him and very little space speaking of positive qualities of his opponent, except to note that she has been a long-time resident of this County.

I have long been aware of Roger’s opinion pieces that have appeared in various blog sites and basically agree with most of his conservative views on the offensive expansion of government upon our personal lives. I support his position on personal responsibility, freedom of choice, opportunity and beliefs. Calling him names for positions he takes is a common tactic used by people unable to defend policies and actions or lack thereof by those they chose to support for political office.


Letters to the Editor Oct. 6, 2012

McNamer will honor the
non-partisan nature of office

Why is it the Republicans are making such a stink about Leslie McNamer associating with all parties, Republican, Democrats, decline-to-state, etc.?

This is a non-partisan position and she does work with all parties, not just her affiliation party.

We don’t need someone in the position of supervisor that will not give equal importance to constituents that are not of his party.


<< Start < Previous page 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next page > End >>

Results 256 - 270 of 1103

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use