>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Oct. 4, 2012

Had a great time at farms’ shindig

This past Sunday, my family and I attended the annual Ocean Air Farms community shindig, as we have every year since it began.

I was impressed that Paul Madeira and Julie Jo Ayer Williams would open this event up to the community at large this year. There were several new faces enjoying all that the farm has to offer.

We always look forward to our annual visit. This year we viewed sheep shearing, enjoyed a scavenger hunt, ate delicious food, listened to a great local band and soaked up the amazing weather.

There are so many things going on at the farm during this event, we didn’t get to enjoy everything we wanted, such as, the hay ride, zucchini sling shot, or the potato harvest.

 


Letters to the Editor Oct. 2, 2012

Gitlin’s thinking like mine; will vote for him 

Regarding the Sept. 29 article “Gitlin seeks local office, but with a global twist,” thank you, Triplicate! You helped me make up my mind!

I am voting for Roger Gitlin for supervisor in District 1. This candidate’s opinions as presented by your front page article represent my thinking.

He wants to help fix Del Norte County. I say, great! We can sure use some fixing!

Dave Egan, Crescent City


Coastal Voices: A good man, a bailiff, and no stranger

They say that there are some folks in this world, because of their kindness and human touch, that you can only be a stranger to but once. But they’re wrong. Or at least they didn’t know Harold Esparza, because he was one of those rare persons who didn’t know the meaning of the word stranger, which was something you could never be in his presence.

I joined hundreds of people Saturday to say goodbye to our friend. I came here seven years ago, starting up a new practice of law, after leaving Orange County and a few miles of bad road behind me. Harold was one of the first people in our courthouse to put out his hand and welcome me and tell me if there was anything I needed to ask him. I can still hear his soft voice and easy smile from that morning in 2005.

You have to know the business we do in our community at 450 H St. to appreciate what Harold Esparza and our bailiffs do. From criminal to dependency to civil to juvenile law and more, we exist daily in a system that seeks to find truth and deliver justice, but is marked as adversarial in nature, which of necessity deals with situations toxic and explosive.

 


Letters to the Editor Sept. 29, 2012

Native Americans in our area should be proud of our mascot

I have been following the controversial issue of those wanting to bring back the image of a warrior head for the mascot at Del Norte High. I have read the letters for and against this issue. I find it very hard to believe that the students at Del Norte High would think of an Indian head as being a symbol portraying the Indian culture as bad or representing something that took part in our nation’s past dark history.

I graduated from a high school in another state, and our mascot was the “Indians.” I was very proud of our mascot! I know that soon after I graduated there was a nationwide push to eliminate all teams with the mascots that had anything associated with the Native American people. I was very pleased when my high school stood firm and continues to this day to have the “Indian” as its mascot.

 


Wednesday will be walk to school day

This Wednesday, Oct. 3, scores of area students will join millions worldwide in celebration of International Walk to School Day.

Where children and their families can safely walk to school, they get physical activity, reduce traffic congestion and related air pollution, and engage in their community in a way that is not possible from the inside of a car.

Where walking conditions are not ideal, this annual event can be the catalyst for a community to identify opportunities to improve basic streetscape, making the neighborhood safer for all of its residents.  

 


Letters to the Editor Sept. 27, 2012

Now is time to work together to resolve mascot issue

What happens next? How does our community heal itself from the vast division it suffered by the Del Norte Youth Football’s effort to “bring back the head”

The dust is settling from the Sept. 13 School Board meeting, when Board Policy 5135 (1998) reconfirmed the elimination of using an American Indian image or icon as the mascot for the Del Norte Warriors?

 


Letters to the Editor Sept. 25, 2012

President hasn’t shown any leadership in Mideast uprisings

It should cause concern for all of us that this president has not shown any leadership with the uprisings in the Mideast where a U.S. ambassador was killed, along with three other Americans.

Where has this president been? Has he met with his security council? No, he had more important places to be: on Sept. 14 he had to give an interview to the entertainment magazine People en Espanol and have a photo-op with photographer Omar Cruz, according to Breitbart reporter Warner Huston.

He did, however, attend the remains ceremony at Andrews Air force Base at 2:15 p.m., according to the presidential schedule of Sept. 14. In a Sept. 13 article by Washington Post opinion writer Marc Thiessen, the president’s schedule indicated he was to hold a security meeting on Wednesday, the day after the attack, but canceled that meeting to comfort grieving State Department employees. Rather than reschedule the Security Council meeting, Obama decided to go to Las Vegas for a fund-raising event.


Letters to the Editor Sept. 22, 2012

Hospital regionalization awful

On my recent visit to my orthopedic surgeon, I was more aware of this recent push to “regionalize” our hospital services.

I am appalled! Hasn’t our community lost more than our fair share of medical services already?

More and more of our citizens are being forced to commute to Eureka or Medford for the services we direly need to remain local. We’ve already suffered a mass exodus of doctors and other health care professionals. Isn’t this more of the same?

Speaking from personal knowledge, the “cutting” of our medical transport bus has already made it close to impossible for me to get to the pain clinic in Arcata so that I can have a semblance of “quality of life.”


Letters to the Editor Sept. 20, 2012

Reasons why Gitlin received Republican Party endorsement

Buried deep in a Sept. 6 article by Emily Jo Cureton, “Local election season about to get rolling,” was an interesting quote of the county supervisor of the 1st District, Leslie McNamer, in which she lamented her missed opportunity to make door-to door visits to her constituents during the primary in her imperiled race with her strong opponent for the position, Roger Gitlin. Gitlin’s enthusiastic face-to-face presentations in District 1 were greeted by approving voters, placing him in a lead position for the position on the county board.

 


Letters to the Editor Sept. 18, 2012

Hospital regionalization would devastate area’s economy

I have never written a letter to the editor before but I feel strongly this letter should be published. This letter concerns the regionalization of Sutter Coast Hospital and the devastating effect it will have on the community.

We will be left with no adequate health care in two counties. It will reach the same status as Gold Beach Hospital. Not only will there not be adequate care but it will devastate the county financially. Doctors and nurses will have to leave the county to find employment. The staff that keeps the facility maintained, housekeeping, medical records personnel, computer staff etc, will find themselves let go or under-employed. 

The financial effect could leave this county with an added burden of unemployment and welfare. Homes will be lost and the tax revenue will be lost. There are many senior citizens such as my husband and I that will have to consider if we can continue to live in the area we love so much. One of the reasons we felt that we could retire here was there was quality medical available to us.

I have spoken to many others in our situation and most of them would consider relocation if medical help should diminish.

Karen Berry

Smith River


<< Start < Previous page 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 Next page > End >>

Results 301 - 315 of 1132

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use