>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor, March 5, 2016

Support struggling fishermen at fish fry

The Community Assistance Network (CAN) would like to thank everyone who has donated to the emergency fund for out-of-work crab fishermen.

Please don’t forget to show your support this afternoon (Saturday, March 5) by attending the Commercial Fishermen’s Association fish fry at the fairgrounds.


Letters to the Editor, March 3, 2016

Facts of America’s founding cannot be overlooked

I’m responding to Marlowe Thompson’s letter of Feb. 20 in which she exhorts America to return to her God’s side. She ignores, to borrow a phrase, the inconvenient truth that genocide, slavery, and holding women back were the founding father’s religious track.

I suggest reading Howard Zinn’s, “The People’s History of the United States” to understand what men guided by God have wrought. Would your Jesus celebrate or abhor such acts?


Letters to the Editor, March 1, 2016

Sutter Coast can’t look down a throat?

As a long-term resident of Del Norte County, I write to share my concerns with Sutter Coast Hospital.


Letters to the Editor, Feb. 25, 2016

Fisherman’s Association helping during crab closure

As a member of the newly formed Crescent City Commercial Fishermen’s Association, formerly the Del Norte Fishermen’s Marketing Association, we feel that we were left out of the article on Feb. 18 “Crab season depends on whole state.”


Letters to the Editor, Feb. 23, 2016

Addie Meedom great with our loved ones

I am writing this letter for two reasons. First off, I am thankful our community has a facility such as Addie Meedom to care for our loved ones. I know first hand how well the elderly are being loved and cared for, due to the fact that I worked as part of the team for 16 years and under five administrators. I am now retired but continue my involvement with the current administration and staff.

I worked with the current Administrator Paul Silva for over two years and I do believe in his ability to oversee and run Addee Meedom. It takes a certain kind of person to work with the elderly. Paul and his staff take this job very seriously and have the residents’ care and safety as a top priority. Any time the families or residents had a complaint, Paul would always stop what he was doing to investigate and work with all involved to come up with a solution.


Letters to the Editor, Feb. 20, 2016

We are watching McClure’s every move

Recently the (Eureka) Times-Standard printed a succinct but scathing editorial re: the Coastal Commission’s ouster of Charles Lester. One of the “back room villains” it referred to was the North Coast’s very own Martha McClure, who not only voted to remove Lester, but also propelled the commission’s decision to hide the process behind closed doors.

When McClure stated her desire for her district to “update their coastal land use plans without more aid from the commission’s staff,” I had to laugh at her use of the word “aid” (translation: inconvenient oversight). Now that it’s quite clear she stands with the local Good Ol’ Boys Network, she should be prepared to feel a bit uncomfortable in her post, since we will be watching every move she makes as commissioner.


Letter to the Editor, Feb. 16, 2016

Sick in Del Norte? Hopefully you're a dog 

After being in severe pain for some time, my 74-year-old widowed sister made an appointment with her regular doctor in early January. The doctor prescribed ibuprofen and made an appointment for March 28.

The medication had no effect at all. The doctor (by phone) told her to go to the hospital for an X-ray, which showed arthritis and extensive damage to her neck — the doctor still advised March 28 for an appointment.

The pain was intolerable and since we could not get her in to see her doctor, she went to urgent care on the 6th — still no appointment change. We had to take her to the emergency room on the 9th and still the doctor would not see her. 


Letters to the Editor, Feb. 11, 2016

Billboard advertising legal product isn’t really a problem

In response to, 'Recreational Marijuana billboard needs to go.”

Mr. Smith, I too am disgusted every time I pass a billboard promoting alcohol (88,000 deaths in U.S. annually), cigarettes (6 million deaths worldwide annually), sleeping aids (320,000-507,000 U.S. deaths annually) and pain killers (44 people die daily in U.S. as a result of prescription opioid overdose). Yet, your concern is a marijuana billboard?

Now, I am not naive enough to believe marijuana hasn't contributed to deaths while operating machinery but there have been zero deaths as of yet, contributed to overdose or prolonged use of marijuana.


Letters to the Editor, Feb. 9, 2016

DV series should get the conversation going

My name is Benita Cabrera and I am a member of Soroptimist International of Crescent City. I would like to thank you for doing this three part series on Domestic Violence. We must keep talking about this issue and it is people like you who are making a difference by taking on this taboo subject. Keep writing and educating. This is the only way to end violence against such a vulnerable population.

As our international project, Soroptimist has taken on the task of educating our communities about human trafficking. In this process I myself have learned a great deal about the issue. One of the things I learned was that, often human trafficking violence is considered by the victim as DV. It is so because she is considered to belong to him (boyfriend/captor) all the same thing.

To the outside world they appear to be a couple and so when there is a report by a concerned citizen it is reported and investigated as DV. Most often the victim won't disclose any details that would lead the officer to suspect anything more.


Letters to the Editor, Feb. 4, 2016

Carol Schach wrote a great book

I have so enjoyed the book “Fleeting Miracles” by Carol Schach. I have given both my granddaughters a copy. I am inspired each time I pick it up. What a tribute to the area, in particular Trillium Dream on Holland Hill roadside.


<< Start < Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next page > End >>

Results 31 - 45 of 1321

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use