>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor, Nov. 12, 2015

A quick reminder of the good in people in Crescent City

So many times, we read about horrible people and events in the paper. I would like to share my recent story of the good in people.

Last Thursday, Nov. 5, I was driving on Pebble Beach Drive. I had just been for a long walk with a friend. I began coughing furiously. When I pulled up to the stop sign at Pebble Beach and Washington Boulevard, I began to feel very dizzy. I remember thinking, “I have never felt this dizzy.” The next thing I saw was a big bush outside my front windshield.


Letters to the Editor, Nov. 10, 2015

Triplicate opinion page needs return to more, longer letters

I find myself yielding to an irresistible urge to confront your announced program of propagandizing Del Norte citizens through what I have dubbed Project Grow Del Norte. In introducing your new editorship — “Making room for more of your views,” — Aug. 11 — you announced your intent of cutting back on letters to the editor by reducing them to a single letter of 300 word capacity per month thus somehow increasing them to “lots of them” while increasing editorials from across the continent in an act of diversity so that we, the unwashed masses of Del Norte County, can be exposed to diverse views hopefully resulting in a maturing modality which you somehow perceived us as being in need of.


Letter to the Editor, Nov. 7, 2015

October Festival of Arts Auction a hit

Coast Redwoods Art Association wants to thank Crescent City for making our first October Festival of Arts Auction so successful. Most of our community doesn't recognize our legal name, but calls us by the name of our Gallery at the harbor, Crescent Harbor Gallery. We are a non-profit organization with no paid employees. Our volunteers do it all.

We have carried out our mission at the Harbor Gallery since 1984, but with limited wall space, we now are hanging artwork at the library, Department of Motor Vehicles, Wild River Foundation, Sutter Coast Hospital, the Del Norte County Courthouse, and the Harbor Master building. Painting class and art demonstrations are in tight quarters.

We continue to look for larger quarters and want our community to support us in our efforts.  We have free sponsored memberships for artists 80 years old and over. New and exciting events are happening at our Gallery. Come visit.

Maida Piotrowski, Past President


Letter to the Editor, Nov. 5, 2015

On behalf of Redwood School, I would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to everyone who made our annual carnival such a success this year.  So many volunteered their time, helped our school with donations and ticket purchases, and brought their families to enjoy the carnival, making this one of our biggest carnivals ever.  We are so grateful for that support, and for the funding that will go directly to student classrooms.  Thank you, and we hope to see you next year.

Krystol Berry, Carnival Coordinator, Redwood School


Letters to the Editor, Oct. 31, 2015

Wild animals only come to town when starving

Mountain lions on Bertch; baby bear run over on the on ramp to Walmart. What pray tell don’t people (rangers, game wardens) understand?

The only, and I repeat, the only reason a wild animal will come into civilization is because it’s starving to death. Let me repeat, starving.

Feed them where they live and that’s where they’ll stay. Problem solved.


Letter to the Editor, Oct. 29, 2015

Financial responsibility questioned by SWMA 

Supervisors Gerry Hemmingsen and Chris Howard have refused appointments to our local Solid Waste Management Authority. I’m not a bit surprised. It’s become a hot seat for any board member criticizing disappearing cash and other financial discrepancies. Now, Supervisor McClure and Triplicate personnel in their Oct. 20 editorial are ridiculing Hemmingsen and Howard instead of addressing the fact that a standing threat of censorship awaits any solid waste board member who dares to challenge financial discrepancies. Creating a hostile environment against persons who speak for financial responsibility is the cornerstone of corruption.

It’s unfathomable to me that some find the disappearance of $29,000 cash from the solid waste authority perfectly acceptable, hiring extra administrative personnel against the advice of an expert consulting firm is somehow just fine, crying to the Grand Jury to involve them in a politically-based issue even where no administrative review has been exhausted (as is normally required by law) is somehow OK, with a standing threat of censorship looming over any local solid waste board member daring to demand financial accountability.


Letters to the Editor, Oct. 27, 2015

Rural Human Services staffers saved veteran

To the director of Rural Human Services:

My name is Apolonio (Paul) Garcia and I wish to call to your attention one of your employees. I only know his first name: Aaron. I am a disabled Vietnam and Yom Kippur War veteran. I lost my wife of 38 years to alcohol a little over a year ago and lost my ability to handle life and went homeless.

I do not drink or take drugs. But losing Donna made me unable to cope with everyday decisions. I asked Sam — a lady who helps veterans at the VFW building — and she sent me to your building. I spoke to Robin in the computer room, who listened to me and was very kind.


Letters to the Editor, Oct. 24, 2015

This week’s ‘Little Things’ featuring spiders is a big hit

Bryant Anderson’s photographs of spiders were just beautiful, and so was the layout. In addition, he writes well. Thank you Bryant, I enjoyed the pictures and text.

Diana Ashley, Gasquet

“OK” an inadequate response to Finigan’s refusal to serve

OK. That’s the Triplicate’s response to David Finigan’s refusal to serve on the Solid Waste Management Board. Just OK?


Letters to the Editor, Oct. 22, 2014

Great coverage of the area’s wildlife

It is great to see our outdoors and wildlife being represented in the paper. Your staff articles on the little things (Bryant Anderson) and various hike/bike adventures (Adam Spencer) are really good, but the interesting writing that Lucas Brug contributes seasonally on the birds of Del Norte really stands out. As a marine scientist and amateur birder, I find his representation of the incredible bird world of this area is spot-on accurate. He also conveys the peculiar obsession of birding in an enchanting light. Get out there and enjoy the way of the wilds around us.

Craig S. Strong, Crescent City

 


Letters to the Editor, Oct. 20, 2015

DNSWMA needs to be reigned in

I see by the article in the Triplicate that the county Board of Supervisors finally took steps to skewer the spokes of the wheels of Mr. (Tedd) Ward’s empire locally known as Del Norte Solid Waste Management Authority. It’s about time.

One would think after the uproar over the Grand Jury’s fantasy findings for all to see that our new editor, with investigative experience, would rise to the occasion and become the public’s fourth estate to check into what is clearly a problem.

The editor may wish to start with why a small unelected group purporting to be the voice of the community in conjunction with Mr. Ward spent 2014 attending the DNSWMA meetings complaining about staff shortages. This activity contributed greatly to the animosity that developed between some of the commissioners and the administrative staff.


<< Start < Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next page > End >>

Results 31 - 45 of 1282

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use