>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor May 24, 2011

Can’t pity those on system when I work and have costly insurance

Regarding the May 17 letter “Unfair to say that people who live on system are lazy, criminals,” are you kidding me! Unless a person is born with a silver spoon in their mouth they have to find their way in this world!

California affords the most disadvantaged all that the country has to offer! The federal government pushed to get everyone educated!

I didn’t grow up with a great support system in my family but I married a wonderful husband that is one of the smartest people I will ever know. If you want to lean how to beat depression, pull some weeds! There is nothing better to deal with ADHD than turning off the TV and if your child is inappropriate in words or actions than start gardening or go for a hike.


Letters to the Editor May 21, 2011

There is no longer any dedicated Social Security fund; it’s just IOUs

In reference to Laurel Marquart’s May 18 letter, “SSI, SSDI services should not be paid out of Social Security fund,” my question is, what Social Security fund?

The so-called fund has long consisted of nothing more than a stack of government IOUs, and is now only a part of our national debt. All Social Security benefits are now paid from current taxes, not from some mythical “fund.”

Social Security was founded in 1935 as a retirement plan, in which workers would pay into a special fund through payroll taxes over their working lives, and would later draw retirement income from the accumulated fund. What happened? Politicians saw all that money coming in and scooped it up to pay for their pet projects, leaving only a stack of worthless government IOUs in its place!

If a private employer stole from his company’s worker retirement plan in the same way that politicians have treated the Social Security plan, that employer would be in prison!

 John Cupp

Smith River


Letters to the Editor May 20, 2011

Many people with health issues work to support those who won’t

I read with interest the letter May 17 letter (“Unfair to say that people who live on system are lazy, criminals”). The writer asked if anyone else in the USA lives like her family.

Of course, an untold number of families “walk in your shoes”; most of them are hard-working, tax-paying citizens who even though they work full-time are still struggling to support their families and trying to stretch their paychecks to cover medical expenses, day care, food, etc.

The difference is they are also supporting you! Dare to walk in their shoes. Go to work every day, juggle children, day care, grocery shopping, housework ... day in and day out, living paycheck to paycheck, not able to afford to purchase a home or go on a vacation, and for many no medical insurance.


Letters to the Editor May 19, 2011

Cartoon introduces racism into heretofore peaceful community

Cartoons are just funny little pictures created in the minds of insightful, creative people that map a shortcut to the core of a set of statements or belief systems, right?

A picture is worth a thousand words, as the saying goes. It is also apparent that there are mental gnomes that occasionally get their pathetic efforts published in a few backwater newspapers of little consequence. A case in point would be the editorial cartoon by Mike Keefe as presented in our local paper by the paucity-driven need to fill a 4- by 6-inch void on the May 12th opinion page. Better by far would it have been to leave the space void.

The cartoon sadly introduces the charge of racism as attributed to the Tea Party by ignominious race-baiters across America into our heretofore quiescent and tolerant community.


Letters to the Editor May 17, 2011

Article about Obama, border full of inaccurate claims, information

In response to the article entitled, “Obama talks about immigration in Texas,” I must have my input.

Obama declares our border with Mexico is quite secure. Yeah right! That’s his point of view from Texas. The rest of the country’s borders are easily accessible.

Locally we have zero or next to no border patrol agents. Entry points for illegals are too numerous to count.

Getting serious about enforcement as stated by the Republicans is an absolute necessity, but impossible until nationwide those illegals without proof of citizenship are eliminated.

It is detrimental to our country’s deficit and safety! Terrorists, murderers and even those illegals who raise the unemployment rate by taking jobs that should be for citizens and by occupying housing that could help the low income and homeless.

The article states there are 11 million illegal immigrants in the country. Try again! Someone can’t count! More than likely it’s double or even triple that number.

No matter how you weigh it, illegal immigrants are a huge drain on our country’s finances.

Jill Bausch

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor May 14, 2011

Del Norte County Democrats stand by Calif. state workers

The Del Norte County Democratic Central Committee voted unanimously at our May meeting to contact Senator LaMalfa about the recent vote in the state Senate regarding the contract for the California Correctional Peace Officers Association. We noted that Mr. LaMalfa voted NO for SB 151 that included the Memoranda of Understanding for CCPOA.

Democratic Central Committee members have family and friends that work at Pelican Bay State Prison. We know firsthand what law enforcement at PBSP faces each day. Our family members and friends, who are civilian staff, return home each day unharmed due to the professional conduct of law enforcement. We know that CCPOA has been without a contract since it expired in 2006, and they deserve to have an elected representative stand with them. We are disappointed that Mr. LaMalfa, as their elected representative, did not stand with them when they needed his support. Only 2 republicans voted with the Democratic senators on May 2.  I will quote the CCPOA spokesman JeVaugh Baker: “we wanted to do our fair share to help the state through a serious budget crisis while protecting the rights of our members in a tough economy. We believe our contract reflects this.”


Letters to the Editor May 13, 2011

McArthur doesn’t understand role of being a representative

When I first read Donald McArthur’s Coastal Voices piece I thought, “Another self-important, small-town politician who is minimizing the problems actually to be faced, lives in an idealogical fantasy world and has no real answers.”

Mr. McArthur begins his piece with a combination of hand-wringing platitudes about how wonderful things would be if only Californians, meaning Republican lawmakers, would truly appreciate the importance of a good public school education and therefore fund it. In the process he supports his argument with a flurry of GDP numbers all the while minimizing the true nature of the problem. Currently California doesn’t have $29 billion to cover the deficit and must by law find a way of doing something about it.


Letters to the Editor May 12, 2011

I support Alexander’s capacity to make difficult decisions as DA

I am writing today in response to the letter to the editor dated May 4, “Disheartened and ashamed by decision not to retry Bradshaw,” regarding our District Attorney Jon Alexander.

It is regrettable that there was a personal attack on the district attorney when clearly the letter was addressing the results of a trial.

I have known Jon Alexander since I first moved to Del Norte County in 2004. Mr. Alexander is dedicated to the law and to bringing justice to victims in our community. I can attest to the character of Mr. Alexander, and I commend Jon for publicly admitting a personal problem that he resolved and then moved on with his life.

I want to thank the district attorney for his public service, and I know him well enough that I don’t question his ability to perform the duties to which he was elected. Difficult decisions are made everyday by elected officials; revenues are a big part of the work that gets done in our community. If resources were unlimited, the community we live in would be better served. I believe our district attorney is working for the best possible solutions with what resources we have.

We are all entitled to our opinions and I wanted to express mine.

Debra Broner

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor May 11, 2011

Fawn Morris will be remembered for efforts in behalf of county fair

We were saddened to learn of the recent death of Fawn Morris, who served on the Board of Directors of the Del Norte County Fair from 1992 to 2001. For almost a decade, she contributed hard work and her special upbeat style improving what she always called “the best little fair in the state of California.” During her tenure as a director she served on the public relations committee of the board and her duties included decorating the fair according to each year’s theme.

Fawn’s philosophy was that she would never sell something she didn’t believe in. Fortunately for Del Norte County, she believed in the fair and she sold it relentlessly as one of its biggest advocates. Even after stepping down from the board and despite failing health in recent years, she made an effort to come to the fair whenever possible. At last year’s fair, she was there to enjoy the excitement with all of us and her wit and intelligence and enthusiasm were as bright as ever.

Fawn made contributions and had accomplishments in many other aspects of our lives here in Del Norte County, but we are especially grateful for the time she gave us at the fair. We will miss her deeply, but we take comfort in knowing that she will live on in honored memory every year as her “best little fair” comes to life.

Darin Bradbury, John Tynes, Robert Cochran, Arman Gunnerson, Kevin Hartwick, Kara Mil­ler, Karen Phillips, Ernest Silva, Richard Taylor,

41st District Agricultural Association Board of Directors

 


Letters to the Editor May 10, 2011

Finally, someone came to aid of couple with cat stuck in tree

My cat Chopper was stuck up in a tree about 50 feet up from 9 a.m. on Sunday, May 1, until

about 5 p.m. Saturday, May 7. He did not have

any food or water since he went out the door. Chopper is a house cat and he was afraid to come

down.

I tried calling the fire department with no luck. I also called the power company. They came out and said the bucket on their truck would not reach. I have called lots of people but I guess they didn’t care.

I am disabled, so I cannot do much, and so is my husband, Allen. He tried to climb the tree but he could not. My cat Chopper is very special to me and my husband. Chopper needs to be inside where he can eat and drink and be warm.

I was discouraged by this town because I thought it has a heart for animals but it seemed I was mistaken.

We finally were put in contact with a young man who made the time to come and help. We would like to send a great and wonderful thank you to Jeremy Hunter and his friend O.J. who came with their climbing gear and rescued Chopper. Jeremy was up in the tree for about an hour. We are so grateful that they took the time and cared enough to help save Chopper.

Mary Puderbaugh

Crescent City


<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 601 - 615 of 1221

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2015 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use