>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Nov. 24, 2010

Law enforcement officers should be held to higher standards

This letter is in response to the letter regarding Deputy Joseph Garcia (“Deputy Garcia is innocent until proven guilty in a court of law,” Nov. 16). That he is, as is everyone’s constitutional right.

However, in reading the report in The Triplicate, dated Nov. 6, (“Documents detail Garcia charges”), I fail to see anywhere in the article that proclaims him guilty. It appears to me that the Triplicate’s reporter did just that, reported the facts as they were presented to the court for the authorities to obtain the necessary search warrants, etc.

Why should the reporting of Garcia’s alleged crimes be any different than anyone else that is suspected of criminal activity? Maybe because he is an officer of the law? I think not! If anything, in my opinion, persons that are in a position of authority, especially officers of the law, should be held to higher standards. I am almost certain that when they take that oath, “to serve and protect,” they are aware of the codes of ethics and procedures that go along with their jobs and they agree to uphold them.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 23, 2010

It may not get approved, but description of bill is accurate

Ron Van Noord (“Single factoid about tax bill embellished with a lot of fiction,” Nov. 11) accuses me of using “factoids,” which I assume means facts which are not entirely accurate, none of which he cites in his letter.

However, a reading of HR 4646 makes it clear that the proposed 1 percent transaction tax applies to all financial transactions. A deposit is a financial transaction. So is a withdrawal or a credit card charge. Thus, if the bill were enacted, if you pay a merchant with a check or credit card, you get nicked for a 1 percent transaction tax by the bank. When he deposits your check or your credit voucher he gets whacked with an additional 1 percent. One percent plus 1 percent equals 2 percent.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 12, 2010

Why does Wash. take so much money, have us beg for it back?

On Nov. 2, the “Opinion” section of our paper gave an oblique reason to vote for Congressman Thompson; i.e. he can bring home more “pork” than his rival Loren Hanks. The author of that article mentioned that former Congressman Foley was defeated by an upstart in Washington State and thus deprived that district of much pork-barrel spending; therefore, if we voted in Mr. Hanks our pork would stop.

The article did not mention Congressman Thompson has voted for every expensive bill offered by the Democrats since Speaker Pelosi has held that position. Nor did the article mention that, according to Citizens Against Government Waste, Congressman Thompson during the 2009 term did not vote even once for any bill that would “protect the interests of taxpayers.” Congressman Thompson is not a representative of this district but one who follows his leader wherever she leads.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 13, 2010

Never experienced a greater outpouring of gratitude for vets

On Nov. 11 so many Americans expressed, in so many ways, their thanks to the veterans. I tried to note all of the businesses, companies and organizations offering their gratitude in ways of discounts or free services. Unfortunately, the day isn’t long and my stomach isn’t big enough for me to be able to accept all that was offered.

I am a 24-year veteran and have been stationed across the country as well as around the world, yet I have never experienced a greater outpouring of recognition and gratitude towards vets as I have since moving to this area.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 16, 2010

Alexander grateful to the voters of Del Norte for electing him DA

With gratitude and heartfelt appreciation to the voters of Del Norte, we declare victory in the election for district attorney of Del Norte.

Our campaign defied the boundaries of partisanship and special interest, drawing strength and support from blue and white collar workers alike, from our seniors to first-time voting teens, from the recovery and faith-based communities to law enforcement, CCPOA and the neighborhood watch groups we were blessed with their support.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 18, 2010

People are tired of big goverment pushing its socialist agenda

America is going through hard times, but is still by far the best country in the world. I have been to other countries and I have never come home to the U.S. and wished we were more like China, Italy, Brazil or any other country.

Freedom is priceless, purchased with the lives of many brave soldiers, fighting to keep this country free from socialist/communist takeover.

Past research shows time and time again that tax hikes do not create jobs, but rather cutting taxes so that small businesses (the foundation of the economy) can prosper.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 17, 2010

Watching the LRT production of “A Christmas Story” a real treat

Friday night we spent a wonderfully entertaining evening enjoying LRT’s latest effort, “A Christmas Story,” the memoir of 9-year old Ralph Parker growing up in the 1940s. The play’s great success can be attributed to the constant dry wit and droll comments narrated throughout the play by Howard Patterson, whose performance absolutely carried the play. He was ably supported by Evan Wise, believably playing Ralph’s father in all his humorous bouts with neighborhood dogs, the basement furnace and other domestic tribulations. The set itself was another pleasure featuring nostalgic and authentic furnishings from the ’40s. Dylan Panter as 9-year-old Ralphie and all the children who played his friends added to the fun.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 19, 2010

Reconsider our affiliations with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce

I have resolved to recommend that businesses and organizations with which I am affiliated remove their businesses and organizations from membership in the Crescent City/ Del Norte County Chamber of Commerce and any local chamber which is affiliated with the National Chamber of Commerce. I am taking these actions because the U.S. Chamber of Commerce secretly took over $86 million dollars from big insurance companies in order to defeat health care reform — including help for small businesses that want to provide health insurance to employees.


Letters to the Editor Nov. 11, 2010

Help veterans who survived and still suffer to keep country free

Veteran’s Day is a big deal. It is to me. As a Vietnam veteran with issues, I am proud of my service for my country, not my Vietnam service — haven’t gained the respect for being a “baby killer,” having things thrown at me when I came home, being spit upon, ashamed of the way it all went down.

Today the Veterans Administration is taking very good care of me. That I’m proud of. I want all veterans to be proud of their service, war or not. I want more people on H Street for the Veteran’s Day Parade. Help the veterans who survived and still suffer to keep our country free.

Stephen R. Anderson

Crescent City

 


Letters to the Editor Nov. 10, 2010

Much we can learn from world

Every country in the world is thought to be the best by its citizens. I wonder how many of our people know that Brazil just elected its first woman president. How many of you know that China is putting its resources into green energy, including a high-speed rail system?

My husband and I were fortunate to have visited Italy in 2008. We were impressed by the vast effort they put into constant restoration of their many old churches, museums, castles, colleges and other edifices of historical importance, thereby keeping many people employed. Many of these grand structures are thousands of years old.


<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 616 - 630 of 1132

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use