>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Feb. 12, 2011

Vehicle speeds also a problem on 1000 block of Highway 101

Regarding the Friday article “Man dies hours after car collides with wheelchair,” the 1000 block of Highway 101 is my neighborhood.

In addition to poor lighting, speed is a big problem. Southbound drivers haven’t slowed down yet, northbound drivers are speeding up anticipating the freeway ahead.

A large apartment complex and two mobile home parks sit behind commercial buildings here. Lots of people on foot, some in wheelchairs.

It can be terrifying to attempt a crossing. Please slow down.

Judy Wolfe

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Feb. 10, 2011

Beware that U-turns are banned unless otherwise posted in Ore.

Warning to California drivers in Oregon! I have lived my whole life in California and have made U-turns, unless posted that you cannot. However, in Oregon, it is the opposite. You can never make a U-turn at an intersection unless it says it’s okay.

Recently, while driving in Oregon, I received a $170 citation for making a U-turn at a lighted intersection, on a green arrow, with no other cars nearby.

I have lived here in Crescent City for six years and never heard of this law. Only if a sign says you can make a U-turn in Oregon is it then okay.

Other states that have no U-turns unless marked are Wisconsin and Missouri.

If you were ever looking for a reason to shop locally, maybe this will help out. It’s not worth the gas and saving on sales tax if you are going to be a government revenue source.

Jeff Graham

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Feb. 09, 2011

Erroneous to say rural, elderly, uneducated have poor judgment

I was astounded by Barry Wendell’s letter regarding “moral values” (“Calif. GOP will lose if it keeps scapegoating immigrants, gays,” Feb. 5). He states that California Focus columnist Thomas D. Elias suggested that Republicans woo Mexican-American voters by stressing moral values that appeal to Catholics and fundamental Protestants. He goes on to say that “moral values” is usually a code for anti-gay. Mr. Wendell states that this might work in rural areas, among uneducated or an older populace, but for young urbanites and almost anyone with an education, it’s a non-starter.

This is one of the most condescending, erroneous statements I’ve ever read. I have a college education and have lived in big cities. I hardly think I have better judgment or more intelligence than my elderly neighbors or those bucolic individuals who are deprived of the culture and sophistication of our cities. They might just feel, as I do, that this deprivation is a plus.

Moral values is not a code for anti-gay, it’s not a code for anything but a decent way of life. If we live as well as we can, if we are responsible, caring people who help those less fortunate or temporarily in need, if we are solid citizens in our communities, some of us raising families and some not, but being honest and trustworthy and treating others as we would like to be treated — that is having moral values.

Shirley Borrego

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Feb. 08, 2011

Tea Party is for protecting rights

Regarding Sybil Saxelby’s Coastal Voices piece, (“Look closer at the NCCS, Feb. 1), you have your opinion, and the folks you discuss have theirs. It’s a free country. You have inalienable rights, which are protected by the Constitution. These rights are Natural Law, as opposed to governmental law, which, on the other hand, is supposed to protect our rights and freedoms. I believe this concept of Natural Law is exactly in keeping with the law school definition that you quote, i.e. the freedom of the individual in his “pursuit of happiness.”

So where does all your fear and loathing come from when you say that the interpretation of the Constitution presented at the Tea Party seminar “would effectively dictate how each of us should live and should think in our society?” Again, we have freedom of expression. No one is dictating. You say “That Glenn Beck has decided what religion we are to apply to the functioning of our Constitution is absurd.” Again, we have freedom of religion. Glenn Beck does not decide for you. I don’t understand how his or anyone’s opinion is “an abuse of the rights of all who differ.”


Letters to the Editor Feb. 05, 2011

Abortions against laws of God, cause economic, social upheaval

As Congress is about to make the hard decisions for all the lives of seniors, the poor, and our children, lets look back a few years and see where going against the laws of God and nature can cause great economic and social upheaval.

Here’s a few statistics I looked up about our vanishing work force in the United States in comparison to seniors retiring.

Since Roe v. Wade was enacted, in the USA alone we have murdered over 53 million babies and in many cases it has been used as a form of birth control. Now, keep in mind that since it’s been over 35 years since Roe v. Wade passed into law.



Letters to the Editor Feb. 04, 2011

Is it too much to expect of parents to feed their own children instead of government?

Reading the Jan. 24 article, “Menu of Changes,” left me wondering when the families of this country became unable to feed their children.

Now it seems the government, through the schools, have taken on parents’ responsibilities for the most basic necessities of a successful society.

Are we truly unable to understand what is good or poor eating habits for ourselves and family? What a shameful situation. I recommend that all children bring lunch and other necessary food to school with them, provided by the parents who chose to raise a family.

Preparing a healthy, nutritious lunch and snack for your child costs only a couple of dollars a day if you shop wisely. Is this really too much to expect from a civilized society?

We are capable of taking care of ourselves and family without government assistance. History has shown this to be true. Let’s do it again.

Brett Bergman

Smith River


Letters to the Editor Feb. 03, 2011

Church-state separation and natural law mischaracterized

The Feb. 1 Triplicate contained a Costal Voices piece by Sybil Saxelby (“Look closer at the National Center for Constitutional Studies”) concerning conservative persons and organizations. She begins by a personal attack on Glenn Beck (“chubby, pink jowls”). She also derides books by Cleon Skousen.

Ms. Saxelby, “natural law” has more than one meaning. The founders of this country believed the Natural Law came from God. Separation of church and state, which I am sure you know, is not in the Constitution but the Constitution did mean to keep the government out of religion because of the interference by the government in England through the Church of England. It was never meant to keep religion out of government.

The constitution prohibits the establishment of religion by the state. The constitution is not a “living breathing document” as liberals (progressives) like to think, but a set of principles based on moral considerations as best prescribed by God.

As for twisting the Constitution, I only see this as occurring through progressives who want to change the Constitution through judicial activism instead of the procedure prescribed in the Constitution itself (amendment).

Glenn Felix

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Jan. 28, 2011

Prep sports stats are needed on the Triplicate sports page

I would like to compliment Triplicate Sports Editor Bill Choy for his good sports articles. I do have a request though.

Would it be possible to put the stats for the Del Norte-Humboldt League that we are a part of on the sports page like The Triplicate puts the stats for the NBA and NFL?

It would be nice to see how the other teams in our league are doing. I don’t expect articles, just the stats.

Carolyn Hilger

Crescent City


Editor’s note: The Triplicate has begun publishing Big 5 boys and girls basketball standings and results on a weekly basis. They will usually appear on Tuesday.


Letters to the Editor Jan. 26, 2011

Thanks to all the agencies that attended First Five open house

My name is Christy Runnion and I am the Early Start Connections coordinator for Del Norte First Five. I wanted to thank all the agencies that attended our recent open house on Caring for our Babies from Pregnancy to Preschool.

I was delighted to meet all of you. I was surprised to learn about services that are offered that I was unaware of. I was especially fascinated to learn about Baby Signs. I  thank all of you for what you do in our community.

Christy Runnion

Crescent City

 


Letters to the Editor Jan. 25, 2010

Want to know more about the Tea Party? Go see for yourself

Regarding the Jan. 20 Coastal Voices piece, “Tea Party co-opted, corrupted,” I want to thank Carla Critz for her opinion. She has now opened her beliefs to debate.

First she claims to know the Tea Party perspective. If so why doesn’t she state it? She claims that if the party is motivated by governments intrusion on our civil liberties, why not an angry cry against the warrantless wire-tapping program? The Tea Party saw its beginnings in 2008 and 2009. The wire-tapping program became public in December 2005 well before the party had its beginnings.

Same for the issue of corporations being granted the Fourteenth Amendment rights. The Supreme Court rulings concerning these rights began in 1886. Is the Tea Party responsible for not making a rally cry now?

 


<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 616 - 630 of 1174

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2015 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use