>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor July 13, 2011

SHU not solitary confinement; it’s for gang members, jerks

I just read the July 7 letter (“Prison officials made misleading claims about inmate conditions”). I can’t believe how there are people out there that think what they think.

I worked for 16 years inside Pelican Bay. The (SHU) Security Housing unit, is not solitary confinement! You have to be a validated gang member or work real hard at being a jerk to be placed in there. These inmates can and do have cellmates. Obviously some need to be alone because they would kill anyone or anything that was put in with them.

Some actually want to be single-celled! I heard inmates say that a stint in the SHU is like a vacation from the yard, where you have to look behind your back constantly! Their cells are right next to each other so they can and do talk and pass stuff to each other all day, and all night.


Letters to the Editor July 12, 2011

No empathy for inmates, my sympathies with our troops

I guess no one is looking at this hunger strike at Pelican Bay State Prison for what it really is. Control.

These men put themselves in the position they are in, and excuse me, but they get better treatment than some of them truly deserve. I personally am upset that some people think the Security Housing Unit is inhumane. These men have done truly horrible things to other people, and will continue to do so given the opportunity, and are in secure housing for just that reason.

I look at our young military men who are overseas fighting for the freedoms of people they will never know, and yet do so on a daily basis without complaint. They don't get three hot meals a day. They don’t get on-demand medical care. They don’t have a safe and comfortable place to sleep every night, and they sure don't get cable TV, so how can caging inmates for the good of all of those around him be inhumane, when our soldiers fight and die or get disabled in body and mind without so much as a whimper?

These young men leave behind family and friends for months at a time. Some come back safe and sound, but many do not. I don’t have empathy for these men in the prison. My feelings are for the soldiers who deserve it.

 Judy Peterson

 Crescent City


Letters to the Editor July 09, 2011

Wing Wah, Seaside Espresso vandals: What’s wrong with us?

What is happening in our little community? One nasty break-in and one attempted break-in over the Fourth of July weekend.

Windows were broken at Seaside Espresso, but they could not get in and the business sustained only broken windows.

Unfortunately Wing Wah was not so fortunate. Burglars broke into Wing Wah and held the owner at knifepoint. Because there was little cash available, they proceeded to wreck the restaurant. The thugs got little from the restaurant but they caused much damage requiring the restaurant to close until they could clean everything and put things back.

This will cost not only the owners but all the employees. I don’t know what drives people to be so mean and angry.

Cathy Despres

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor July 08, 2011

True progressives want every person to think, be the same

I have to say Allen Johnson was in rare form when he tried to take on the Tea Party in his June 25 letter “Tea Party’s funders want return to 19th Century exploitation.”

While I am sure that the local Tea Party can handle Mr Johnson’s diatribe with ease, it might be more constructive to examine the progressive politics he seems to be so infatuated with. While it is simplistic to think that the progressive movement can be described in a letter to the editor, it is clear from Mr Johnson’s letter as he so casually trots out a few of the many recent progressive causes that he has no idea what the goal is for that movement as a whole.

The progressive movement in this country has long pandered to a wide variety of causes that do not necessarily find themselves in the same ideological camp. Hence, if ideology doesn’t drive the progressive bus, it has to be something else.

Progressives have been collecting groups since the early 20th Century and have constantly kept them isolated from each other. Through these diverse groups they have been able acquire the political power to dictate behavior, thought and activity within the general population without the various groups becoming aware that they are but a means to an end.

True progressives do not care about working conditions for union employees, improving the environment, universal health care, minority rights, or any of a dozen other concerns. They would like for every person in the general population to be the same, think the same, and behave the same way. So much easier to control.

Throughout history the fact that each human is different has long been the fatal flaw in any attempt at a succeassful progressive movement. I suppose that Mr Johnson might take solace by googling George Soros, Moveon.org, or reading on-line the Huffington Post. Many people find the ideas expressed in those places quite frightening as well.

Samuel Strait

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor July 07, 2011

Some people’s sympathy for inmate rights is pretty pathetic

I sit here in the morning with my coffee and read these articles about the prisoners at the “Bay” and their hunger strike, etc. Hello, this is our world today!

There was a convicted murderer named Gary Gilmore  (executed in Utah, 1977) who said, “I’m guilty carry out my execution sentence.” Well they did about one year later. But the funny part was, well maybe not so funny, that he got two stays of execution against his wishes from the actions of the ACLU.

Hmmmm, what’s wrong with this picture? That’s the world we live in!

Don’t call our enemies out for who or what they are, we may make them mad at us. Don’t treat convicted felons like convicts, they have rights. Give them the best the state has to offer and suck it up Mr. Taxpayer.

We can have inmates who have committed the most heinous crimes but don’t serve them a meal thats to their dislike or heaven forbid don’t disrespect them!

What we need here is a new SHU (Security Housing Unit) built in these people’s backyards who whine and cry for these convicted felons. Or how about a room addition? That way they can live up front and personal with these people and we can close all the prisons and save the taxpayers some money.

Pretty pathetic when you really think about how far we’ve come, huh?

Gary Pelster

Crescent City


Letter to the Editor July 06, 2011

Inhumane isolation in SHU vital reason for inmates’ hunger strike

It seems that all your readers believe that this hunger strike at Pelican Ban State Prison is for food rations! It is not only that, but inhumane, indefinite confinement in the Secure Housing Unit.

Some have been in there for 30 years with no contact with family members who are too sick or old to travel up here.

This isolation is against the United Nations and our Constitution.

The food is just one of the protests that are on the table.

So please print this as they, the readers, are being misled by those that feel it is okay to throw away the key and let them live in total isolation!

Josie Ruiz

Crescent City


 


Letters to the Editor July 05, 2011

Good time for all that made it to the Crescent Harbor Gallery

I went to the Crescent Harbor Gallery for the Friday night Art Walk.

They had a delightful slide show of someone’s vacation to Four Corners. It was well put together and presented professionally. They also had Tim Blueflint playing the Indian flutes he had made. He is a local boy who came home.

The paintings and pictures were nice, and I found one for my son. All in all it was a really good time for all that made it to the gallery.

Thank you for the great entertainment.

Ellen Dalbec

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor July 02, 2011

Disappointed Memorial Day by state of Potter’s Field

I was very disappointed in our county on Memorial Day. The cemetery was nicely groomed, all but Potter’s Field.

Granted not many people visit their loved ones there, but a few of us do. The grass had not been mowed. The fence and entry was falling down. There were tree limbs that we had to move to visit and pay our respects to my husband’s family.

What happened to the prison crew that used to keep it so nice? I was very glad that the rest of my family did not show up, it was very embarrassing.

I hope this condition can be remedied for future visits by out-of-town relatives.

Connie Fletcher

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor July 01, 2011

There is nothing wrong with billionaires supporting Tea Party

In her June 28 letter of response to Allen Johnson, Joan Miles missed an opportunity.

Instead of opening up the dialogue to readers of the opinion page, she invited Mr. Allen to the lair of the Tea Party for a debate Such an enclave, if accepted, would limit the conversation whereas the opinion page opens it up to the entire community. Let us opt instead for expanded airing.

In addressing the “average Joes” of the Tea Party, Mr. Johnson (“Tea Party’s funders want return to 19th Century exploitation,” June 25) poses the question whether they know that those who “originated and heavily finance the Tea Party are not ordinary working-class Americans? When one traces the origin of the Tea Party, (he continues) one soon comes to the names of some of America’s wealthiest people, namely the Kansas oil billionaires, Charles and David Koch.”


Letters to the Editor June 30, 2011

To person who took my cane: How can you sleep at night?

There must be some pretty hard up people and with no thought of someone else to steal a walking cane from Shop Smart the other day.

I was in there for just a few minutes, set my cane down to get my purse to pay for my merchandise, I was in a hurry to get out to the car, where someone waited who was kind enough to take me to the store. Of course I forgot my cane and, when I got into the car, wondered why my hip was hurting.

By the time I got to the next errand, I had remembered that I left my cane at the store. My friend was kind enough to go back for me while I finished my business and get the cane. But much to her surprise, it was gone.


<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 631 - 645 of 1283

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use