>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Sept. 13, 2011

Thank you Sheriff Wilson for taking a stand for liberty

So, the chairwoman of the county Democratic Party believes Sheriff Dean Wilson’s  involvement in the Tea Party is “offensive” (“Tea Party Sheriff,” Oct. 3). Most members of her party believe the Tea Party is “offensive” because it’s a threat to those who think their purpose is to intrude in every aspect of our lives. 

The Tea Party believes that unalienable rights come from our Creator.  Her party finds this “offensive” as well. They assume our rights come from the EPA and a gazillion other regulatory agencies that keep American prosperity stuck on its meat-hook.           

Debra Broner states her purpose is to “bring information to the voters … not shove (ideas) down people’s throats.”  Are you kidding me?  I can think of a host of freedom-robbing, tax-increasing, social engineering agendas that her party is shoving down our throats with ill-regard for our personal liberty.       


Letters to the Editor Sept. 10, 2011

Should taxpayer money be wasted on a special election?

As an architect, I have run a successful business for 25 years, based on precision, thoroughness, and correctness — exactly what I do for you as your elected official in city policy making.

Regarding the Waste Water Treatment Plant Proposition 218 process, four rate increases were planned. The City Council simply approved a previously scheduled rate increase.

Our city employees and police officers are among the lowest paid in the state. It’s better business sense to award a cost-of-living pay raise (2 percent) than to lose staff/officers due to underpayment.

Fluoride in our drinking water is not decided by the City Council — it must be decided by  city voters.


Letters to the Editor Sept. 08, 2011

Stealing no sin for us as Obama spends $1 billion for Libyan oil

President Obama was powerful enough to attack Libya illegally, but powerless for our problems.

It seems like those rebels were paid by Al Qaeda; if so, are we helping the bad guys?

Probably Obama thinks that we can easily afford $1 billion to fight Moammar Gadhafi.

According to Libyan radio I listen to every day, they have a civilian war going on. With bombs dropping constantly, most doctors left the hospitals and they have no medication to treat wounded people, mostly civilians and kids.

The same media believe that we might steal their oil in the future. I expect the same, since we have been taking resources from many nations around the globe.

Stealing is not a sin for us.

Samuel Rosa

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Sept. 07, 2011

Story about Wilson’s Tea Party ties amounted to free political ad

I trust Dean Wilson paid the going rate per inch for his front page political ad in Saturday’s Triplicate (“Tea Party sheriff: Dean Wilson is filling two high-profile roles in county”).

Sue Anderson

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Sept. 06, 2011

Required CEQA procedure not followed in walkway’s demolition

This is in response to the Sept. 3 editorial, “Downtown view improves,” regarding Tsunami Landing. It is the editor’s conclusion that the aesthetic effect of the removal of the landing is improved and that the structure was an aging, rotted wooden structure.

That may well be true, however, the problem remains that the city did not follow the required procedures as outlined in the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) that sets forth a procedure that is required to be followed to protect the public from the negative impact of any project that effects the environment.


Letters to the Editor Sept. 03, 2011

Northcrest Drive traffic delays seem to be due to poor planning

In response to the Aug. 31 front-page article entitled, “Congestion on Northcrest Drive will continue,” today I must state my opinion.

The article stated the roadwork will continue through November and the expected wait time is up to 15 minutes in either direction.

I live near the roadwork and have a need to go into town at least twice a week, sometimes more often.

Each and every time I’ve had to pass through the roadwork, I can’t believe the idiocy of the so-called planning.

The number of residences and businesses that they are blocking access to is too numerous to count.

Only 50-100 feet of road should be worked on at a time from start to completion. Then move on to the next 50-100 feet.

One lane should always be open to traffic! On a recent morning they had both lanes backed up with traffic.

Jill Bausch

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Sept. 02, 2011

Instead of complaining about the community, volunteer your help

There has been a lot of grumbling and frustration over some of the changes happening around town.

It’s very easy to criticize and second-guess decisions made by others, much harder to show up and give constructive input.

I challenge everyone to take some time, consider what things in our community are really important to you and then get involved ... maybe it’s Del Norte Reads or cleaning up the cemetery ... maybe it’s CASA, or the Christmas Parade or the Front Street redesign project.

Don’t complain later, get involved now. And, whatever your opinion on the process, Tsunami Landing has never looked better.               

Cheryl Corpstein

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Sept. 01, 2011

People — including DA — should wait to pass judgment on Silvey

I was absolutely amazed at the information released in the article published by The Daily Triplicate in regards to Eileen Silvey (“Scandal at the Senior Center: Former manager jailed; suspected of embezzlement,” Aug. 20).

She was tried, convicted and hanged all in one article. Reporting the news is one thing but trying a case in the media is another. I question the district attorney’s motives and his objectivity. One letter-writer even feels Eileen’s daughter should suffer, as if she isn’t already. My goodness, why would anyone feel our children should be held accountable for our own deeds?

What kind of judgement was used by Mr. Alexander when he released this information to the public? He has not even filed a complaint against Eileen, yet he implies that she is guilty.


Letters to the Editor Aug. 31, 2011

Klamath Fire didn’t get funding becauase it asked for too much

Klamath Fire Protection District did not get the tax increase it requested for several reasons, but they can all be summarized by too much, too little and too few.

The “too much” is they asked for way too much in one increase. To increase taxes by 150 percent in such hard economic times is just asking too much. If the district had asked for less, it might have passed.


Letters to the Editor Aug. 30, 2011

Frustrating experiences as union forced me to fund political causes

Regard the Aug. 24 California Focus column by Thomas Elias, “‘Paycheck protection’ — again,”  I lived through over 20 years of paying into United Teachers, Los Angeles. It was forced on me, I didn’t want its representation.

Today the full-time UTLA member and agency fee is at least $689.04 a year. The full-time fair share is at least $494.28 for those who want to not give to any political causes or groups through the union.

In order to vote in the union, you have to be a member but you have to let them collect and spend on politics in order to join the union. They took my money but would not allow me to vote on the union contract.


<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 646 - 660 of 1331


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use