>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Aug. 18, 2010

Setting the record straight on Del Norte County workers’ pay

On behalf of the Del Norte County Employees Association/SEIU Local 1021, I would like to thank you for publishing comparative pay rates for the local, city, county and school district management positions.

It was an excellent article for the most part, but there is one item I would like to set straight for the record. Your article indicated that the  county workers’ pay is the same as similar jurisdictions. This is simply not true. According to a salary survey conducted by the county in 2008, most county workers make 10 percent less than similar jurisdictions.

Our road crew makes 13 percent less than other jurisdictions, yet they are not paid from the general fund. They are paid from dedicated road funds received from the state, which can only be used to pay for road maintenance.


Letters to the Editor Aug. 17, 2010

No paid leave for Garcia

Deputy Joe Garcia is on paid leave since his arrest!

I find that disturbing considering other people who are were arrested don’t get paid leave. I would understand if he was at home pending charges, but at first he was in jail. I just find it frustrating that the county is raising classroom sizes due to a shortage of funds, yet he still gets paid.


Letters to the Editor Aug. 12, 2010


Letters to the Editor Aug. 11, 2010

We do not have the right to vote on the civil rights of other citizens

Regarding the overturning of California’s Proposition 8, the gay marriage ban:  Simply put, as my high school civics teacher always said, “Your right to swing your arm ends where my nose begins.” Thank you Mr, Chegwidden, wherever you are!  

The reason Proposition 8 was overturned by a federal judge is because it violates both the Equal Protection Clause and the Due Process Clause of the 14th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. We do not have the right to vote on the civil rights of other citizens.  

Pat Gargaetas

Crescent City

 

Newcomers: Most beautiful ocean on globe in Crescent City

Crescent City will have two new residents in the next few weeks. For years, my wife Algela and I have scoured the coast to find the “perfect” place to set down roots in the autumn of our lives. We found Crescent City, Del Norte County, California. Thank you, God!


Letters to the Editor Aug. 10, 2010

Sea lion shooter and his/her parents should be punished

To the “archer” who shot and killed the sea lion on July 24, 2010: I hope that, upon your capture and subsequent conviction and sentencing, you receive the maximum fine, to be levied upon the folks who reared you, and you receive the maximum prison sentence.

Jim Ansell

Crescent City

 



Letters to the Editor Aug. 6, 2010


Letters to the Editor Aug. 5, 2010


Letters to the Editor Aug. 4, 2010

Offended by depiction of Palin in comic strip

I am offended by Garry Trudeau’s “Doonesbury” comic strip. In my opinion, it is unfit for a community family newspaper.

I don’t object to a little political satire in the comics. Al Capp and Johnny Hart used to do some of that with humor and reasonable good taste. However, Trudeau’s depiction of a Sarah Palin caricature plotting the murder a young girl is so far out of line it is not funny. Literally not funny.


Letters to the Editor Aug. 3, 2010

Troop Support enters 7th year

Troop Support appreciates the efforts of Wendy’s Beauty Salon and its staff who donated recently to our funds. Charlotte Fleshman, hair stylist, planned the successful fundraising event; she is also one of the officers at Emblem club where she and all the members do so much for our care box program.

The last several months have been very sad for us, an encroaching malaise that casts a blue haze in our lives when we hear and read about the concerns here and across the country  about safety and health problems of our  loved ones at war. 

It really puts a tremendous effort on me to be cheerful as we start our seventh year when I experience all this.  


Letters to the Editor July 31, 2010


<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 661 - 675 of 1110

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use