>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google
Updated 4:21pm - Jul 26, 2016

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Sept. 01, 2011

People — including DA — should wait to pass judgment on Silvey

I was absolutely amazed at the information released in the article published by The Daily Triplicate in regards to Eileen Silvey (“Scandal at the Senior Center: Former manager jailed; suspected of embezzlement,” Aug. 20).

She was tried, convicted and hanged all in one article. Reporting the news is one thing but trying a case in the media is another. I question the district attorney’s motives and his objectivity. One letter-writer even feels Eileen’s daughter should suffer, as if she isn’t already. My goodness, why would anyone feel our children should be held accountable for our own deeds?

What kind of judgement was used by Mr. Alexander when he released this information to the public? He has not even filed a complaint against Eileen, yet he implies that she is guilty.


Letters to the Editor Aug. 31, 2011

Klamath Fire didn’t get funding becauase it asked for too much

Klamath Fire Protection District did not get the tax increase it requested for several reasons, but they can all be summarized by too much, too little and too few.

The “too much” is they asked for way too much in one increase. To increase taxes by 150 percent in such hard economic times is just asking too much. If the district had asked for less, it might have passed.


Letters to the Editor Aug. 30, 2011

Frustrating experiences as union forced me to fund political causes

Regard the Aug. 24 California Focus column by Thomas Elias, “‘Paycheck protection’ — again,”  I lived through over 20 years of paying into United Teachers, Los Angeles. It was forced on me, I didn’t want its representation.

Today the full-time UTLA member and agency fee is at least $689.04 a year. The full-time fair share is at least $494.28 for those who want to not give to any political causes or groups through the union.

In order to vote in the union, you have to be a member but you have to let them collect and spend on politics in order to join the union. They took my money but would not allow me to vote on the union contract.


Letters to the Editor Aug. 27, 2011

Tea Party survey-takers likely to be sympathetic to the cause

It seems that Roger Gitlin’s raised eyebrows mobilized our editor to quickly clarify what his statement made in the Aug. 20 Editor’s Note about The Tea Party survey at the county fair really meant.

The statement was, “Many people of other persuasions probably chose not to even stop at the Tea Party booth, even if they had been willing to take a few minutes out of their fair day to fill out a form.”


Letters to the Editor Aug. 25, 2011

I’m disgusted with how Silvey’s alleged actions impact Senior Ctr.

I’m sure I’m not alone in expressing my dismay and disgust at how Eileen Silvey’s alleged actions have damaged our Senior Center, as well as the much-needed Energy Assistance Program (“Scandal at the Senior Center: Former manager jailed; suspected of embezzlement,” Aug. 20).

My feeling is this: If the accusations are true, Ms. Silvey should sell her house, her car, her daughter’s car, the tennis bracelet, etc., etc., to pay back that money to the government.

To quote Forrest Gump, “That’s all I’ve got to say about that.”

Heidi Bauman

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Aug. 23, 2011

A reader’s thoughts on survey by the Tea Party at the DN fair

I must acknowledge I was of the 254 who answered questions at the Tea Party booth at the fair. 

Triplicate Editor Richard Wiens essentially “got it right” when he writes, “The Tea Party, of course, represents the right-hand side of the political spectrum, so it’s only reasonable to expect the survey results to lean heavily conservative.”

However, Editor Wiens begins to raise my eyebrow when he writes many people may have chosen not to stop at the Tea Party booth. Certainly, there were many who did not stop by the fuchsia display, a quilt booth, or even the Democratic Party booth, all which was within eyesight of the Tea Party booth. People were just walking around enjoying the fair.

I was one of those who “lingered about” after I finished my survey. I am one of those who believe:


Letters to the Editor Aug. 20, 2011

RHS tsunami work crew member: Program is restoring lost jobs

Regarding the letters from Jim Wisbauer (“Make-work project in town a complete waste of tax money,” Aug. 12) and Floyd Burgess (“People in orange vests standing around could do more work,” Aug. 18) thank you for your input.

I am a Rural Human Services tsunami crew member. Your letters have been read and discussed by the RHS team and “orange jackets.” We know all eyes are on us. I hope you realize the RHS crew members are not afraid to work harder. We are new to this work.

Any input on jobs big or small to do in Crescent City, Del Norte County and our beloved fishing harbor are highly appreciated. These RHS crews want to work and are available to start and finish any job with a positive attitude.


Letters to the Editor Aug. 19, 2011

One of many traits I appreciate in old friend Murray is her clarity

Dear editor and citizens of the northern Crescent City (because you all already identify with the other “Crescent City” in turmoil):

I have known Kathryn Murray for more decades than either of us would volunteer to identify. Or count. But we would both answer truly if pressed for decades or dates.

Her city of choice (which was Eureka’s loss) was to move to your coastal city. The decision was made to accommodate her family, her commitment, her dedication to making everywhere around her a better place.


Letters to the Editor Aug. 18, 2011

Appreciate beautification efforts done by local workers recently

I have appreciated the wonderful beautification efforts being done by all of the local workers during the past few months.

The downtown area, parking lots being repainted, weeding, trimming and clean-up projects along Pebble Beach and many others in progress.

Good job to all who are working on these projects. I appreciate these efforts daily and would like to acknowledge the hard work of all involved.

Charlene Blackburn

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Aug. 15, 2011

Tsunami Landing was a blessing, and so is my handicap placard

Tsunami Landing is a complete blessing in my life, as is my handicap placard.

Every winter I use Tsunami Landing to walk to the Coast Central Credit Union to escape the downpour of our local rains. We park our van in the back parking lot so I have easy access to the outdoor covering of Tsunami Landing. I have multiple sclerosis and I can’t walk like normal people do anymore.

My balance is greatly affected so I have learned to walk twice as slow as I used to. Tsunami Landing has been a wonderful blessing for me during the winter months because it keeps me from getting soaking wet, allowing me to walk safely in the rain and still keep my slow pace.


<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 661 - 675 of 1339


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use