>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor Feb. 19, 2011

Congressman’s self-centered ideas bad for Klamath salmon

I was dismayed to read in Friday’s Triplicate of Republican Congressman Tom McClintock’s efforts to block the agreement to remove dams from the Klamath River.

The plan to remove these dams has the support of farmers, fishermen, tribes and conservation groups. It seems the only one against the plan is Congressman McClintock, so he is using his power to try to stop the dam removal.

There have been millions of dollars already spent on studies, reports, meetings, etc., and now he wants to stop a project that clearly has the support of the people.

Seems like one more member of the “Party of No” just can’t bear to see things any other way but his own.

The salmon are in real trouble, Congressman. The removal of these dams will give the species a good chance to recover. Why don’t you go back to your office in Washington, D.C., and let people in the Pacific Northwest deal with our own issues?

 Lawrence Henderson

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Feb. 18, 2011

California politicians need to be unselfish to solve financial crisis

Our state is and has been suffering through a huge budget deficit that got enormously worse while Schwarzenegger was governor. Jerry Brown ran for governor knowing full well that if elected he would be burdened, dealing with the disaster left by Schwarzenegger. And he’s giving it his best effort, but it’s going to take more time than our state and Californians have.

The poor and middle class suffered what seemed an eternity under Arnold’s “Reign of Terror” and still are.

Medical, dental, podiatry, optical, mental health care, education, the disabled, the elderly and numerous other programs have been consistently cut or done away with. Arnold’s budget cuts affected every county and city in our state. He showed no mercy except to the wealthy.


Letters to the Editor Feb. 17, 2011

Feds should let birds and bees do what comes naturally to them

Charles Robert Darwin, in “Origin of the Species,” gave us the theory of evolution with the concept of natural selection. Today, natural selection is happening in our redwood forests.

The law of natural selection tells us organisms that adapt to their environment tend to survive and transmit their genetic characters while those less adapted tend to be eliminated. A new species of an owl is being created by the mating of the northern spotted owl and the eastern barred owl.

Do these two owls know something we “humans” do not understand? Federal biologists say that the smaller eastern barred owl is throwing a big monkey wrench into the protected status of the spotted owl. They are pondering a plan to kill thousands of eastern barred owls and their offspring with the spotted owl. Where is the human outcry? Could it be these two birds have found a way to create a new gene pool that has created a new species that could meet the demands of climate change and the damage that clear cutting has done?

By hybridizing, the spotted owl and the eastern barred owl themselves have created a new genus of owls. My question is, does the U.S. Forest Service have a new name for this new sub-species. Maybe, they could call it the Jefferson Owl after the state of Jefferson.

Let these two birds enjoy their mating dances. Man should stay out of their relationship. Maybe Mother Nature knows best. It is something she has been doing over a million years.

Richard Miles

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Feb. 16, 2011

Lack of courage, conviction in administration like never before

A Feb. 10 Coastal Voices piece I wrote, “Time to look under the hood,” resulted in a letter from Don Stewart, another Klamath resident (“Op-ed blaming Obama for deficit, economy is full of incorrect info,” Feb. 12). I wish to respectively respond.

Mr. Stewart inaccurately suggested I blamed Obama for the entire national debt. I actually blamed Obama for our national (federal) deficit “exploding” to $1.3 trillion.

I don’t believe I inferred that Republicans were fiscally anything, let along being “fiscally responsible.” But an inspection of debt figures going back to 1987 shows that the modern-day Democrat party, when controlling both houses of Congress, does in fact spend more money than its Republican counterparts.

If you throw in a Democrat president to rubber stamp their agenda, you lose trust, transparency and accountability.

Mr. Stewart states that jobs were steadily lost during the last 12 months of the Bush Jr. administration. In fact, during the 2001 to 2008 Bush Jr. years, unemployment ran up from 4.6 percent to 7.4 percent. It is also a fact that Obama’s unemployment figures were 10 percent and 9.5 percent at year’s end for 2009 and 2010, respectively.

This isn’t a personal attack on Obama.  It is an indictment of the lack of focus, courage, conviction and understanding lacking in this particular administration, a lacking I have never witnessed before in our country, based on rhetoric and apart from today’s reality.

Paul Crandall

Klamath


Letters to the Editor Feb. 12, 2011

Vehicle speeds also a problem on 1000 block of Highway 101

Regarding the Friday article “Man dies hours after car collides with wheelchair,” the 1000 block of Highway 101 is my neighborhood.

In addition to poor lighting, speed is a big problem. Southbound drivers haven’t slowed down yet, northbound drivers are speeding up anticipating the freeway ahead.

A large apartment complex and two mobile home parks sit behind commercial buildings here. Lots of people on foot, some in wheelchairs.

It can be terrifying to attempt a crossing. Please slow down.

Judy Wolfe

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Feb. 10, 2011

Beware that U-turns are banned unless otherwise posted in Ore.

Warning to California drivers in Oregon! I have lived my whole life in California and have made U-turns, unless posted that you cannot. However, in Oregon, it is the opposite. You can never make a U-turn at an intersection unless it says it’s okay.

Recently, while driving in Oregon, I received a $170 citation for making a U-turn at a lighted intersection, on a green arrow, with no other cars nearby.

I have lived here in Crescent City for six years and never heard of this law. Only if a sign says you can make a U-turn in Oregon is it then okay.

Other states that have no U-turns unless marked are Wisconsin and Missouri.

If you were ever looking for a reason to shop locally, maybe this will help out. It’s not worth the gas and saving on sales tax if you are going to be a government revenue source.

Jeff Graham

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Feb. 09, 2011

Erroneous to say rural, elderly, uneducated have poor judgment

I was astounded by Barry Wendell’s letter regarding “moral values” (“Calif. GOP will lose if it keeps scapegoating immigrants, gays,” Feb. 5). He states that California Focus columnist Thomas D. Elias suggested that Republicans woo Mexican-American voters by stressing moral values that appeal to Catholics and fundamental Protestants. He goes on to say that “moral values” is usually a code for anti-gay. Mr. Wendell states that this might work in rural areas, among uneducated or an older populace, but for young urbanites and almost anyone with an education, it’s a non-starter.

This is one of the most condescending, erroneous statements I’ve ever read. I have a college education and have lived in big cities. I hardly think I have better judgment or more intelligence than my elderly neighbors or those bucolic individuals who are deprived of the culture and sophistication of our cities. They might just feel, as I do, that this deprivation is a plus.

Moral values is not a code for anti-gay, it’s not a code for anything but a decent way of life. If we live as well as we can, if we are responsible, caring people who help those less fortunate or temporarily in need, if we are solid citizens in our communities, some of us raising families and some not, but being honest and trustworthy and treating others as we would like to be treated — that is having moral values.

Shirley Borrego

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor Feb. 08, 2011

Tea Party is for protecting rights

Regarding Sybil Saxelby’s Coastal Voices piece, (“Look closer at the NCCS, Feb. 1), you have your opinion, and the folks you discuss have theirs. It’s a free country. You have inalienable rights, which are protected by the Constitution. These rights are Natural Law, as opposed to governmental law, which, on the other hand, is supposed to protect our rights and freedoms. I believe this concept of Natural Law is exactly in keeping with the law school definition that you quote, i.e. the freedom of the individual in his “pursuit of happiness.”

So where does all your fear and loathing come from when you say that the interpretation of the Constitution presented at the Tea Party seminar “would effectively dictate how each of us should live and should think in our society?” Again, we have freedom of expression. No one is dictating. You say “That Glenn Beck has decided what religion we are to apply to the functioning of our Constitution is absurd.” Again, we have freedom of religion. Glenn Beck does not decide for you. I don’t understand how his or anyone’s opinion is “an abuse of the rights of all who differ.”


Letters to the Editor Feb. 05, 2011

Abortions against laws of God, cause economic, social upheaval

As Congress is about to make the hard decisions for all the lives of seniors, the poor, and our children, lets look back a few years and see where going against the laws of God and nature can cause great economic and social upheaval.

Here’s a few statistics I looked up about our vanishing work force in the United States in comparison to seniors retiring.

Since Roe v. Wade was enacted, in the USA alone we have murdered over 53 million babies and in many cases it has been used as a form of birth control. Now, keep in mind that since it’s been over 35 years since Roe v. Wade passed into law.



Letters to the Editor Feb. 04, 2011

Is it too much to expect of parents to feed their own children instead of government?

Reading the Jan. 24 article, “Menu of Changes,” left me wondering when the families of this country became unable to feed their children.

Now it seems the government, through the schools, have taken on parents’ responsibilities for the most basic necessities of a successful society.

Are we truly unable to understand what is good or poor eating habits for ourselves and family? What a shameful situation. I recommend that all children bring lunch and other necessary food to school with them, provided by the parents who chose to raise a family.

Preparing a healthy, nutritious lunch and snack for your child costs only a couple of dollars a day if you shop wisely. Is this really too much to expect from a civilized society?

We are capable of taking care of ourselves and family without government assistance. History has shown this to be true. Let’s do it again.

Brett Bergman

Smith River


<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 661 - 675 of 1223

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2015 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use