>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor July 02, 2011

Disappointed Memorial Day by state of Potter’s Field

I was very disappointed in our county on Memorial Day. The cemetery was nicely groomed, all but Potter’s Field.

Granted not many people visit their loved ones there, but a few of us do. The grass had not been mowed. The fence and entry was falling down. There were tree limbs that we had to move to visit and pay our respects to my husband’s family.

What happened to the prison crew that used to keep it so nice? I was very glad that the rest of my family did not show up, it was very embarrassing.

I hope this condition can be remedied for future visits by out-of-town relatives.

Connie Fletcher

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor July 01, 2011

There is nothing wrong with billionaires supporting Tea Party

In her June 28 letter of response to Allen Johnson, Joan Miles missed an opportunity.

Instead of opening up the dialogue to readers of the opinion page, she invited Mr. Allen to the lair of the Tea Party for a debate Such an enclave, if accepted, would limit the conversation whereas the opinion page opens it up to the entire community. Let us opt instead for expanded airing.

In addressing the “average Joes” of the Tea Party, Mr. Johnson (“Tea Party’s funders want return to 19th Century exploitation,” June 25) poses the question whether they know that those who “originated and heavily finance the Tea Party are not ordinary working-class Americans? When one traces the origin of the Tea Party, (he continues) one soon comes to the names of some of America’s wealthiest people, namely the Kansas oil billionaires, Charles and David Koch.”


Letters to the Editor June 30, 2011

To person who took my cane: How can you sleep at night?

There must be some pretty hard up people and with no thought of someone else to steal a walking cane from Shop Smart the other day.

I was in there for just a few minutes, set my cane down to get my purse to pay for my merchandise, I was in a hurry to get out to the car, where someone waited who was kind enough to take me to the store. Of course I forgot my cane and, when I got into the car, wondered why my hip was hurting.

By the time I got to the next errand, I had remembered that I left my cane at the store. My friend was kind enough to go back for me while I finished my business and get the cane. But much to her surprise, it was gone.


Letters to the Editor June 29, 2011

County employees should take a lesson from entrepreneurs

Regarding the photo accompanying the June 24 article, “County employees hold protests,” the sign said “Can you survive on a 12.5 percent pay cut?” The answer is, yes I can, because we did, and we didn’t even get to vote to decide if it would be 12.5 percent or 5 percent. It just happened; it’s called “the economy.”

My husband owns his own construction company. At the beginning of this year he went at least six weeks without work. He didn’t have the luxury of unemployment insurance, he didn’t have anyone to point the finger at to blame, to say “cut from the top,” “raise taxes.” Nope, he just sharpened his pencil, beat the pavement and went looking for work.


Letters to the Editor June 28, 2011

Volore, Mortenson family thanks Crescent City for vigil, support

The family of Ashley Volore and Cecilia Mortensen would like to thank everyone who came to their candlelight vigil on Friday, June 17, at the Hidden Creek Apartments. Especially the manager of Hidden Creek, Jackie Guerrero, who organized it.

The family’s prayers of gratitude go to John Berryman, the inspirational speaker, and Charlie Wick and Joyce Christian, who led the singing.

Ashley wants to thank everyone for coming and the donations that were given will go toward Cecilia’s burial with her grandmother and great-grandmother in San Jose.


Letters to the Editor June 25, 2011

Tea Party’s funders want return to 19th Century exploitation

I keep reading and hearing about the Tea Party and its activities in Crescent City. They portray themselves as a grassroots group of everyday Americans. Probably many of the Tea Party members in Crescent City are just that, but I wonder if those who are “average Joes” realize that those who originated and heavily finance the Tea Party are not ordinary, working-class Americans.

When one traces the origin of the Tea Party, one soon comes to the names of some of America’s wealthiest people, namely the Kansas oil billionaires, the brothers Charles and David Koch. Each Koch brother is believed to be worth $21.5 billion according to Forbes magazine.


Letters to the Editor June 23, 2011

Fast-food restaurants have no business asking for your name

I see that some of the fast-food places have now decided to use a little polite blackmail to collect personal names to claim your order.

State Law SB262 (the paparazzi act) specifically forbids such actions. The courts have ruled that, on a cash transaction, no personal information shall be extracted, since coin-of-the realm (money) is all that is necessary.

Oh well, I guess there is still no law north of the Klamath

Claude Schwaninger

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor June 22, 2011

Something must be done to stop people like man who robbed us

A few days ago, a fellow came to our house saying he could do any and all labor, carpentry, mechanical, electrical, yard work, etc.

He said he was trying to help his sister who had several small children that needed food and clothing. He said someone slashed his tires and stole his gas.

Our yard needed mowing so he was mowing with our riding lawn mower until he broke a belt.


Letters to the Editor June 21, 2011

Allow off-roading to kill off area’s non-native beach grass

There is a field of study called “Patch Dynamics” (White and Pickett, a rather thick book). It describes how nature’s calamities, such as a huge storm, or even the natural fall of a single tree, can create opportunities for certain species which, oddly, actually are attuned to such things occurring.

Locally it’s native beach plants that need disturbance to complete their life cycles. I studied this phenomenon as a graduate student in Range Ecology; it is well documented. What does that have to do with here and now, at our closed to-vehicles dunes?

As most know, the dunes around the mouth of the Smith River and elsewhere, have been stabilized all too well from their natural drifting-about state by a non-native beachgrass. Why don’t we cordon off, say 10 acres at a time, in areas totally blanketed with the stuff, and let all comers ride trucks, motorcycles, dune buggies, what-have-you, all over the area; until the grasses are all killed off and the dunes blowing about again?

If we train the riders to respect the no-ride status on other “treated” areas, the spot can then be closed, a new one opened up; and native species can be reseeded/planted. It would be a grand experiment, and what do we have to lose?

The area is already ruined, so we might as well try something this “radical.” All we have to be mindful of is the Plover bird’s need to nest in season. Otherwise, why not do something both fun, and likely sensible, ecologically-speaking? Oregon seems to be (inadvertently) way ahead on this, perhaps?

Hilary John Herman

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor June 17, 2011

County’s treatment of animals is disgusting — demand change

In regards to the lack of support in saving the animals of Del Norte County, I am disgusted with the county as a whole.

On April 5 I finally won an ugly battle with the Ag Department to save a wrongfully neglected and mistreated horse. This horse suffered for years. While Animal Control recieved many calls over that period of time, the horse was left to suffer. That is until I laid eyes up close on this heartbreaking creature and demanded somebody do something.

The department was quick to send it back to its owner in fear of the financial responsibility to save its life.


<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 676 - 690 of 1321

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use