>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor May 28, 2010

 

Letters to the Editor May 27, 2010

 

Letters to the Editor May 26, 2010

 

Letters to the Editor May 25, 2010

 

Letters to the Editor May 22, 2010

 

Letters to the Editor May 20, 2010

 

Letters to the Editor May 19, 2010

Take a look at how schools are currently administered

I recently moved here from another part of California. While looking at the school system here I was surprised to learn that there appears to be no clear distinction between district and county school programs.

One role of a county superintendent of schools is to monitor the finances of the district schools. How can that happen in Del Norte when the same person is in control of the budgets for both? The same people who devise the district budget, review it and present periodic reports to the School Board (which is a district board one minute and a county board the next – just attend a School Board meeting and you will see).

It appears that many people in the school district wear two hats. Isn’t that a conflict of interest? If positions are inter-mixed, how about funds?

 

Letters to the Editor May 15, 2010

Thank you all, Crescent City people, for making me smile

“It’s not so bad” living in a place where our newspaper man Chuck from The Triplicate goes out of his way to make sure the paper is placed on our door step on those rainy days so we don’t have to go searching for it.

And on those very windy days when our trash and recycle pickup people make sure the empty cans/containers are placed up by our house and won’t get blown away.  A place where the friendly team at Safeway always asks if it can help, and means it. Or a place when I walk into, like Rite Aid, and I’m greeted with a “big-O” smile and with the team in the pharmacy who are always willing to help with your needs.

Then there’s the Del Norte Office Supply staff, who if it doesn’t have what you need in stock is willing to get it ASAP! Or people like Brian and Traci at the Post Office who really seem to like their job and it shows.  And how could I leave out the police and fire departments, who are there in a split second and who would risk everything to help someone in need.

 

Letters to the Editor May 18, 2010

Separate county supt. of schools promotes check and balances

The county superintendent of schools is elected by the voters of Del Norte County and is accountable to those voters. A separate county superintendent avoids a top-down management approach, promotes checks and balances and allows for openness, transparency and inclusiveness in decision making. The county superintendent must focus on being a fiscal watchdog of the district, overseeing charter schools and providing educational services to disenfranchised youth.

The Triplicate stated that there is a “state administrator who annually looks at the district’s three-year budget.” If this administrator reviewed the district’s budget, why is the district in such dire financial straits?

A fiscal watchdog reviews district income and expenditure. A fiscal watchdog “barks” when something seems amiss. I recently “barked” when last year’s audit showed the county office with a 26 percent reserve. The result? The “error” was corrected to show “only” a 10 percent reserve.

 

Letters to the Editor May 14, 2010

Unhappy with Obama’s liberalism

This letter is in response to Sam Allison’s April 22 letter, “Tea Party seems to be united in its fear and hatred of Obama.” You mentioned the protesters are angry about issues they don’t understand. We, the majority of the American people don’t understand why we should be happy with Obama and his partisan liberal programs he’s railroading through. You mentioned the debt that Bush developed in the eight years in office. Our country had 9/11, the two wars congress voted for, Katrina, Congress and a Senate under control of Democrats the last two years of Bush’s term.

 
<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 691 - 705 of 1089

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use