>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor May 14, 2011

Del Norte County Democrats stand by Calif. state workers

The Del Norte County Democratic Central Committee voted unanimously at our May meeting to contact Senator LaMalfa about the recent vote in the state Senate regarding the contract for the California Correctional Peace Officers Association. We noted that Mr. LaMalfa voted NO for SB 151 that included the Memoranda of Understanding for CCPOA.

Democratic Central Committee members have family and friends that work at Pelican Bay State Prison. We know firsthand what law enforcement at PBSP faces each day. Our family members and friends, who are civilian staff, return home each day unharmed due to the professional conduct of law enforcement. We know that CCPOA has been without a contract since it expired in 2006, and they deserve to have an elected representative stand with them. We are disappointed that Mr. LaMalfa, as their elected representative, did not stand with them when they needed his support. Only 2 republicans voted with the Democratic senators on May 2.  I will quote the CCPOA spokesman JeVaugh Baker: “we wanted to do our fair share to help the state through a serious budget crisis while protecting the rights of our members in a tough economy. We believe our contract reflects this.”


Letters to the Editor May 13, 2011

McArthur doesn’t understand role of being a representative

When I first read Donald McArthur’s Coastal Voices piece I thought, “Another self-important, small-town politician who is minimizing the problems actually to be faced, lives in an idealogical fantasy world and has no real answers.”

Mr. McArthur begins his piece with a combination of hand-wringing platitudes about how wonderful things would be if only Californians, meaning Republican lawmakers, would truly appreciate the importance of a good public school education and therefore fund it. In the process he supports his argument with a flurry of GDP numbers all the while minimizing the true nature of the problem. Currently California doesn’t have $29 billion to cover the deficit and must by law find a way of doing something about it.


Letters to the Editor May 12, 2011

I support Alexander’s capacity to make difficult decisions as DA

I am writing today in response to the letter to the editor dated May 4, “Disheartened and ashamed by decision not to retry Bradshaw,” regarding our District Attorney Jon Alexander.

It is regrettable that there was a personal attack on the district attorney when clearly the letter was addressing the results of a trial.

I have known Jon Alexander since I first moved to Del Norte County in 2004. Mr. Alexander is dedicated to the law and to bringing justice to victims in our community. I can attest to the character of Mr. Alexander, and I commend Jon for publicly admitting a personal problem that he resolved and then moved on with his life.

I want to thank the district attorney for his public service, and I know him well enough that I don’t question his ability to perform the duties to which he was elected. Difficult decisions are made everyday by elected officials; revenues are a big part of the work that gets done in our community. If resources were unlimited, the community we live in would be better served. I believe our district attorney is working for the best possible solutions with what resources we have.

We are all entitled to our opinions and I wanted to express mine.

Debra Broner

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor May 11, 2011

Fawn Morris will be remembered for efforts in behalf of county fair

We were saddened to learn of the recent death of Fawn Morris, who served on the Board of Directors of the Del Norte County Fair from 1992 to 2001. For almost a decade, she contributed hard work and her special upbeat style improving what she always called “the best little fair in the state of California.” During her tenure as a director she served on the public relations committee of the board and her duties included decorating the fair according to each year’s theme.

Fawn’s philosophy was that she would never sell something she didn’t believe in. Fortunately for Del Norte County, she believed in the fair and she sold it relentlessly as one of its biggest advocates. Even after stepping down from the board and despite failing health in recent years, she made an effort to come to the fair whenever possible. At last year’s fair, she was there to enjoy the excitement with all of us and her wit and intelligence and enthusiasm were as bright as ever.

Fawn made contributions and had accomplishments in many other aspects of our lives here in Del Norte County, but we are especially grateful for the time she gave us at the fair. We will miss her deeply, but we take comfort in knowing that she will live on in honored memory every year as her “best little fair” comes to life.

Darin Bradbury, John Tynes, Robert Cochran, Arman Gunnerson, Kevin Hartwick, Kara Mil­ler, Karen Phillips, Ernest Silva, Richard Taylor,

41st District Agricultural Association Board of Directors

 


Letters to the Editor May 10, 2011

Finally, someone came to aid of couple with cat stuck in tree

My cat Chopper was stuck up in a tree about 50 feet up from 9 a.m. on Sunday, May 1, until

about 5 p.m. Saturday, May 7. He did not have

any food or water since he went out the door. Chopper is a house cat and he was afraid to come

down.

I tried calling the fire department with no luck. I also called the power company. They came out and said the bucket on their truck would not reach. I have called lots of people but I guess they didn’t care.

I am disabled, so I cannot do much, and so is my husband, Allen. He tried to climb the tree but he could not. My cat Chopper is very special to me and my husband. Chopper needs to be inside where he can eat and drink and be warm.

I was discouraged by this town because I thought it has a heart for animals but it seemed I was mistaken.

We finally were put in contact with a young man who made the time to come and help. We would like to send a great and wonderful thank you to Jeremy Hunter and his friend O.J. who came with their climbing gear and rescued Chopper. Jeremy was up in the tree for about an hour. We are so grateful that they took the time and cared enough to help save Chopper.

Mary Puderbaugh

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor May 07, 2011

No regrets for celebrating death of a man who rightly deserved it

I have gone to bed the past few nights and awakened each morning with the same thought — why was I celebrating the killing of another human being?

With no reservation or hesitation, I will continue to do so today and the remainder of my life.

 I recall over nine a half years ago the footage of the Twin Towers, the Pentagon and a field in Pennsylvania — all exploding and choking in gasps or dust, blood and screaming steel. And the call that came, saying my cousin had died, blown to pieces at the Pentagon. Then the news that 64 people from the county of my birth had also been murdered that day.

And I remember that week, saying on national radio that those people, Osama Bin Laden and his ilk, would never defeat us. Up until last night, Bin Laden’s continued existence in some way defied that belief.


Letters to the Editor May 06, 2011

AAU coach: Under-14 kids taught more than winning

I would like to humbly respond to and answer the question that Bob Fisher asked in his April 30 letter concerning the AAU basketball program in Del Norte County. He asked, “Do we not want to put the best players out there to represent our community?”

As an AAU coach in this county, I would like to assure Mr. Fisher that we do have some of the finest young men representing our community. I feel it a privilege to be able to work with these young men, take them to competitions and let everyone know we are from Del Norte County.

However, I would like to caution Mr. Fisher on the narrow-minded focus of measuring success with championship titles, especially with the under-14 age group, which I currently work with. As their coach, I structure our practices to focus not only on basketball court awareness, but also classroom awareness, community awareness and family awareness.

 


Letters to the Editor May 05, 2011

Lack of justice suggests that money talks in this small town

Yes, I have a question: Do these cops think that they are above the law?

One gets paid for being a crook! Then there was the Bradshaw case, where he gets a slap on the hand.

Yes, money talks in this small town!

Tony Jacomella

Crescent City


Letters to the Editor May 04, 2011

Disheartened and ashamed by decision not to retry Bradshaw

In regards to the Bradshaw trial and the Coastal Voices piece article by District Attorney Jon Alexander (“The Bradshaw decision,” April 16), I’m disheartened and ashamed. Alexander never once showed up to the trial, yet this was the biggest case at the time of the trial. He stated that his best trial attorney tried the case, yet Katherine Micks never seemed to object to anything and fumbled over her words

Another trial would not improve her performance? Nothing would change with a new trial? That is hard to believe. If the case is so hard to prove then why was taxpayer money wasted to go to trial to begin with? In regards to memories fading due to the fact of the defense attorney's illness, was it real,? Was proof even offered or the delay objected to?


Letters to the Editor May 3, 2011

If Obama were adopted, he would never see his birth certificate

I am glad that President Obama was able to obtain a copy of his original birth certificate to prove that he was born in the United States. However, if President Obama had been born and adopted in the United States, he still would not be able to produce his original birth certificate for the public or even for his own viewing.

By law, he would only be able to produce an “amended birth certificate.”

An amended birth certificate is issued at the finalization of a person’s adoption. This “birth certificate” replaces a person's birth name with a new name and his/her natural parents’ names/information with his adoptive parents’ names/information.

Once an amended birth certificate is issued, people are kept from viewing/possessing their truthful documentation of birth. Their original birth certificate is sealed forever.

I wish President Obama had been adopted so that the country could see how discriminatory it is to seal an adopted person’s birth certificate and replace it with a falsified one.

Mara Parker

Trinidad


<< Start < Previous page 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 Next page > End >>

Results 706 - 720 of 1321

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use