>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor, Dec. 8, 2015

Two Boys Scouts helped me when I was in need

I would like to send a personal thank you to two boy scouts who were at the craft fair Dec. 5, selling mistletoe to raise money to help others. I am sorry I do not know their names.

While being a volunteer gift wrapper in a side section of the craft fair, I underwent an emergency situation, that could well have turned into a 9-1-1 call.


Letter to the Editor, Dec. 3, 2015

Actual wording of Constitution

I want to thank Evelyn Cook for her comments on Christmas in last Saturday’s paper (Christmas under fire, follow Jesus’ teachings).

It amazes me what people really think the Constitution says. “Separation of Church and State” is a statement in writings among several constitutional authors.

The First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution states: “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.”


Letters to the Editor, Dec. 1, 2015

Fight continues against Sutter Coast’s greed

First, I would like to thank the Triplicate for assigning reporter David Anderson to cover the Healthcare District Board meetings. There are many in the community who believe that the fight against Sutter Health is lost. Be assured that four of your Healthcare District board members are working diligently to take action that will bring a full service hospital back to our community.

As reported in the Triplicate, board member Clarke Moore has managed to obstruct the board from moving forward.


Letters to the Editor, Nov. 26, 2015

Dr. Cutter’s great care will be missed

Once again, Sutter Health downsizing in order to show a bigger profit image, has cost the patients of this small community in Del Norte County. 


Letters to the Editor, Nov. 24, 2015

Letter policy too restrictive for our vocal community

I would like to add my voice to those of my neighbors and fellow readers of the Triplicate who are not happy with the new word limit and frequency of letters policy instituted by Editor Robin Fornoff.


Letters to the Editor, Nov. 21, 2015

Hussey saw local need, Sutter only sees profits

While I’m hopeful that mediation will produce a just settlement in the lawsuit brought against Sutter by Beverly Hussey, I’m not optimistic. Sutter’s intransigence to date and the complete lack of transparency at high levels in the organization are not encouraging signs. 


Letters to the Editor, Nov. 19, 2015

One letter per month eliminates chance for debate, discussion

This letter is addressed to “Editor” but more properly should be addressed to the readers ofthe Triplicate because I want to talk about the editor to the readers.

The current editor, Robin Fornoff, has made some changes to the rules governing the Opinion page. One change is to limit letters to 300 words. Another change is to limit letters from any individual to one letter per month.

Some of us readers think these rules are too restrictive. One of the most vocal being Dale Bohling. And, I agree with Mr. Bohling.


Letter to the Editor, Nov. 17, 2015

Paper subscription dropped due to Pitts

Having read the Del Norte Triplicate and often subscribed to it since 1957 and having lived with the knowledge that you never had a real reporter (not even one that could compare to Geraldo Rivera), and rarely had a functional editor, I now find that it is time to drop you.

I know you have to cater to the local mentality. But I feel that you have overstepped the bounds of decency and rationale by paying for and printing the Leonard Pitts Jr. columns.

Fred Storr, Fort Dick


Letters to the Editor, Nov. 12, 2015

A quick reminder of the good in people in Crescent City

So many times, we read about horrible people and events in the paper. I would like to share my recent story of the good in people.

Last Thursday, Nov. 5, I was driving on Pebble Beach Drive. I had just been for a long walk with a friend. I began coughing furiously. When I pulled up to the stop sign at Pebble Beach and Washington Boulevard, I began to feel very dizzy. I remember thinking, “I have never felt this dizzy.” The next thing I saw was a big bush outside my front windshield.


Letters to the Editor, Nov. 10, 2015

Triplicate opinion page needs return to more, longer letters

I find myself yielding to an irresistible urge to confront your announced program of propagandizing Del Norte citizens through what I have dubbed Project Grow Del Norte. In introducing your new editorship — “Making room for more of your views,” — Aug. 11 — you announced your intent of cutting back on letters to the editor by reducing them to a single letter of 300 word capacity per month thus somehow increasing them to “lots of them” while increasing editorials from across the continent in an act of diversity so that we, the unwashed masses of Del Norte County, can be exposed to diverse views hopefully resulting in a maturing modality which you somehow perceived us as being in need of.


<< Start < Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next page > End >>

Results 61 - 75 of 1320

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use