>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor March 18, 2014

Mann case a great miscarriage of justice

Being a Del Norte county resident for 30 plus years, I for the first time am ashamed to let anyone know where I live. I usually brag about what a beautiful place this is, having the beautiful redwoods, rivers full of fish and nice clean air to breathe. But we have to put up with one of the most foul-smelling judicial systems I have ever seen, or heard of. 


Letters to the Editor March 15, 2014

Appalling lack of remorse, responsibility in Mann case

It was very frustrating and sad to learn that Coulter Mann refused to take responsibility for his inappropriate actions in taking a life of an innocent man. Coulter made the choice to drink alcohol and drive his vehicle under the influence, putting himself and others in danger.

The excuse he used in his defense is equally appalling. The people of Del Norte County should be outraged at the stupidity of Mann and his legal team, of which one member is his father, presenting to the jury such inaccurate and laughable fallacies.

Equally disturbing is the pointed testimony of various employees of the Del Norte County Unified School District, including the superintendent. It is OK to be friends with someone but not support such behavior.

 


Letters to the Editor March 13, 2014

Heroes of another kind, doing acts of kindness

We see them. When we thumb through our newspapers or turn on our televisions, we see them. Each day they sacrifice the most precious thing that any of us can ever think to give. Their lives. 


Letters to the Editor March 11, 2014

Ideology, not money, reason to leave Calif.

The debate over whether Del Norte County should join in the attempt to form a new state and leave California has merit on both sides of the issue. The overwhelming reason not to leave, of course, is financial.


Letters to the Editor March 8, 2014

Keeping rein on letters on hospital a good idea

I believe that the hospital situation actually has been quite well reported, if not a little over done, letter-wise.


Letters to the Editor March 6, 2014

Publicize requirements of Critical Access

Now that Sutter Coast Hospital has proposed converting to a Critical Access facility, I understand there are rules and regulations it has to follow. I feel these requirements should be publicized so I know what to expect or not expect should I become an inpatient.


Letters to the Editor March 4, 2014

Policy amounts to censorship

I was appalled to read the editor’s new policy of not printing letters regarding our hospital in the paper any longer (only the few he hand-picks).


Letters to the Editor March 1, 2014

Sutter Health operating with selfish motives

Critical Access was funded in order to improve health-care access by subsidizing tiny hospitals. By cutting beds to qualify, Sutter Health is using the program to reduce access to care in order to increase its payments from Medicare.


Letters to the Editor Feb. 27, 2014

No thought to thought experiment on marriage

In response to Bob Berkowitz’s Feb. 22 Did You Know? column, “Wondering how far our ‘civil rights’ can be taken,” Bob, I had to explain to your cat that you were just writing about a thought experiment when you conjectured about making her a domestic partner. She’ll come out from under the couch now.


Letters to the Editor Feb. 25, 2014

Problem with ditching tsunami sirens in favor of cell phones

This is regarding the Feb. 18 article, “Counties weigh siren cost.”

My question is, who would pay for the cost of furnishing cell phones and the monthly costs associated with them for every household in Del Norte County that doesn’t have a cell phone?


<< Start < Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next page > End >>

Results 91 - 105 of 1112

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use