>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion arrow Letters

Letters to the Editor

Letters to the Editor, Sept. 22, 2015

Liberals hold traditional values too

Once again, I must respond to Mr. Shepard’s rebuttal. Perhaps he does not realize that we liberals have similar traditional values.

We believe in the preservation of the Constitution, just as he does.


Letters to the Editor, Sept. 19, 2015

McClure is not perfect, but neither is the criticism

In my 13 years in Crescent City I’ve read many letters that were critical of Martha McClure.

Some were logical and well written; others quite the opposite. Sparky Countess’s recent letter fell in the latter category.

Sparky seems to be of the opinion that most of what is holding this county back can be attributed to McClure and her “power-monger” partner, Supervisor (David) Finigan.


Letters to the Editor, Sept. 17, 2015

Murray’s knowledge, experience would be great as supervisor

I am pleased Kathryn Murray is running for election to the (Del Norte County) Board of Supervisors. Her life and work experience — and her many services as a City Council member — make her an ideal candidate. Kathryn is knowledgeable about both city and county issues having served on numerous committees and boards with her colleagues on the Board of Supervisors.

Kathryn has also successfully advocated Del Norte County’s needs at the state level, recently serving as president of the Redwood Empire division of the League Of California Cities. She has built a good working relationship with our two newly elected state representatives, Assemblyman Jim Wood and Sen. Mike McGuire, keeping them aware of the particular needs of Del Norte County.


Letters to the Editor, Sept. 15, 2015

Smith River Post Office needs better markings

I’d like to thank Northcrest Towing for their timely assistance in getting my van from a shallow ditch in Smith River on Sept. 9 around 8 p.m. 


Letters to the Editor, Sept. 12, 2015

Sutter Coast’s strategy is great threat to health, future

Thank you for reprinting Chuck Blackburn’s Coastal Voices, “Yes We Can.” Outstanding letter to the editor with which I agree with every word. 


Letters to the Editor, Sept. 10, 2015

Holley, Gastineau demonize Gitlin for standing up to them

A well written review. McClure and Finigan should be ashamed of holding the potentially resourceful and beautiful Crescent City in hostage.

Donna Jean, Crescent City


Letters to the Editor, Sept. 8, 2015

Duplication vs. innovation

With the announcement that there is a new pharmacy coming to town by next year, we’ll then have at least five outlets in town filling prescriptions and providing all that free-standing and big-box pharmacies provide; four of which will be just a few blocks apart.

Will all five survive the competition or will we end up with another empty storefront? Is it better to keep duplicating what we already have vs. attracting new, innovative start-ups to fill essential and unmet needs?


Letters to the Editor, Sept. 5, 2015

Holley, Gastineau demonize Gitlin for standing up to them

I’ve been following the latest Del Norte County drama including the Solid Waste Board lynching of Supervisor Roger Gitlin after the Grand Jury report was released. 

I was trying to get a handle on Elizabeth Henry, who led her horde into the Flynn Center to lobby for Gitlin’s lynching. What a bunch of kooks.

The chairman of solid waste, Rick Holley was pathetic. He claims he was intimidated by Gitlin’s email which asked to delay any discussion about him until he returned from his vacation. Holley refused. Gitlin let him have it in an honest, healthy manner, which Holley considered intimidating. Scary. 


Letters to the Editor, Sept. 3, 2015

Rock Creek residents are thankful for support

The People who live in Rock Creek on the South Fork of the Smith River would like to say thank you to hundreds of people.

To: The fire fighting team for keeping the heat on the other side of the river. When the fire kept coming closer the fire fighting team kept their ground allowing the residence of Rock Creek to keep their homes. A special thanks to the aviation team. Watching their large four-engine aircraft swoop down in this narrow canyon was impressive. And to the helicopter pilots who flew through the smoke and flames to drop the water on target.

To: The Del Norte County Search and Rescue for making a house to house visit and explaining to us we needed to get ready to move on short notice.


Letters to the Editor, Sept. 1, 2015

Great coverage for local triathlon

Commendations to Michael Zogg for his awesome articles on local sports events.

Recently he has written at least three thorough articles on triathlons. In all three cases, our little Crescent City Triathlon group has given him some details and websites and he has done an outstanding job of researching the races. He pulls up pertinent facts and adds the local athletes’ anecdotes, turning it into a cohesive and flowing article. His turn of phrase is excellent.


<< Start < Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next page > End >>

Results 106 - 120 of 1338


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use