>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion

Opinion


Letter to the Editor, Oct. 29, 2015

Financial responsibility questioned by SWMA 

Supervisors Gerry Hemmingsen and Chris Howard have refused appointments to our local Solid Waste Management Authority. I’m not a bit surprised. It’s become a hot seat for any board member criticizing disappearing cash and other financial discrepancies. Now, Supervisor McClure and Triplicate personnel in their Oct. 20 editorial are ridiculing Hemmingsen and Howard instead of addressing the fact that a standing threat of censorship awaits any solid waste board member who dares to challenge financial discrepancies. Creating a hostile environment against persons who speak for financial responsibility is the cornerstone of corruption.

It’s unfathomable to me that some find the disappearance of $29,000 cash from the solid waste authority perfectly acceptable, hiring extra administrative personnel against the advice of an expert consulting firm is somehow just fine, crying to the Grand Jury to involve them in a politically-based issue even where no administrative review has been exhausted (as is normally required by law) is somehow OK, with a standing threat of censorship looming over any local solid waste board member daring to demand financial accountability.


Pages of History: Tankman Grider receives Army discharge

From the pages of the Del Norte Triplicate, October 1945:

Technician 5th Grade Garland L. Grider of Rt. 1 has received his discharge from the United States Army at the Camp Cooke Separation Center. Garland was a member of the 13th Armored Division (“The Black Cats”) which fought under General George S. Patton in Germany. The Black Cat tankmen captured more than 20,000 German prisoners in the fighting in the Ruhr and took an additional 19,000 during the spearhead drive through Bavaria and Austria.

First new washer joins Navy

The boys down on Tinian Island in the Marianas group won’t have any difficulty “keeping it clean” from now on. General Electric is presenting the naval personnel there with the first postwar washing machine to be manufactured at their home laundry headquarters in Bridgeport, Connecticut.


Letters to the Editor, Oct. 27, 2015

Rural Human Services staffers saved veteran

To the director of Rural Human Services:

My name is Apolonio (Paul) Garcia and I wish to call to your attention one of your employees. I only know his first name: Aaron. I am a disabled Vietnam and Yom Kippur War veteran. I lost my wife of 38 years to alcohol a little over a year ago and lost my ability to handle life and went homeless.

I do not drink or take drugs. But losing Donna made me unable to cope with everyday decisions. I asked Sam — a lady who helps veterans at the VFW building — and she sent me to your building. I spoke to Robin in the computer room, who listened to me and was very kind.


Letters to the Editor, Oct. 24, 2015

This week’s ‘Little Things’ featuring spiders is a big hit

Bryant Anderson’s photographs of spiders were just beautiful, and so was the layout. In addition, he writes well. Thank you Bryant, I enjoyed the pictures and text.

Diana Ashley, Gasquet

“OK” an inadequate response to Finigan’s refusal to serve

OK. That’s the Triplicate’s response to David Finigan’s refusal to serve on the Solid Waste Management Board. Just OK?


Pages of History: Endert follows old dream

From the pages of the Del Norte Triplicate, October of 1965:

Chester Endert of Crescent City has followed a dream for 10 long years. The local man had sought the final resting place of the pilot wheel of the ill-fated steamship Brother Jonathan, which wrecked on Point Saint George Reef 100 years ago.

Someone had told Endert that the wheel was in Portland in an eating establishment.

In the Oregon city, Endert traced the wheel to the “Oyster Bar,” a famous restaurant which is located near the waterfront.


Letters to the Editor, Oct. 22, 2014

Great coverage of the area’s wildlife

It is great to see our outdoors and wildlife being represented in the paper. Your staff articles on the little things (Bryant Anderson) and various hike/bike adventures (Adam Spencer) are really good, but the interesting writing that Lucas Brug contributes seasonally on the birds of Del Norte really stands out. As a marine scientist and amateur birder, I find his representation of the incredible bird world of this area is spot-on accurate. He also conveys the peculiar obsession of birding in an enchanting light. Get out there and enjoy the way of the wilds around us.

Craig S. Strong, Crescent City

 


Letters to the Editor, Oct. 20, 2015

DNSWMA needs to be reigned in

I see by the article in the Triplicate that the county Board of Supervisors finally took steps to skewer the spokes of the wheels of Mr. (Tedd) Ward’s empire locally known as Del Norte Solid Waste Management Authority. It’s about time.

One would think after the uproar over the Grand Jury’s fantasy findings for all to see that our new editor, with investigative experience, would rise to the occasion and become the public’s fourth estate to check into what is clearly a problem.

The editor may wish to start with why a small unelected group purporting to be the voice of the community in conjunction with Mr. Ward spent 2014 attending the DNSWMA meetings complaining about staff shortages. This activity contributed greatly to the animosity that developed between some of the commissioners and the administrative staff.


Time to step up or step down

This really isn’t that hard to fix.

We’re talking about the latest trumped up stalemate the Del Norte County Board of Supervisors are wringing their hands over — who among them should take one of two seats the county has on the Solid Waste Management Authority.

One seat is occupied now by Supervisor Martha McClure. She accepted it as one of the responsibilities granted her by the voters when she sought county office and all its generous benefits.


Letters to the Editor, Oct. 17, 2015

Businesses make parade a success

On behalf of Del Norte High School leadership class, we would like to thank the following businesses for supporting and contributing to the Del Norte High School’s Football Homecoming parade: Alexandre Dairy, California Auto image, Coast Auto, Crescent City Fire Department, Crescent Hay and Feed, and Schnacker Hauling.

Without your involvement we would be unable to have a parade. We would also like to thank the community members that came out to cheer their Warriors on to victory. We are so grateful when the community comes together to make homecoming special. We appreciate all you do for Del Norte High School.


No evidence of teen dope peddling

From the pages of the Del Norte Triplicate, October 1955:

Chief of Police William Burke and Del Norte Sheriff Harold Scott today put an end to wild rumors that dope peddling was active among local teenagers. After months of expensive investigation not a single bit of evidence was uncovered to support the rumors. Officers did find a few cases of vodka drinking among teenagers and the use of a mild patent medicine that had a “kick,” but nothing more.  


<< Start < Previous page 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next page > End >>

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use