>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion

Opinion


Letters to the Editor Oct. 7, 2014

Candidate Apperson isn’t qualified to be police chief

Several months ago my wife and I had a discussion as to why Erik Apperson is seeking the position of sheriff of Del Norte County and not pursuing the position of chief of police for Crescent City with the retirement of Doug Plack. During the past week or so it became very evident by reading several articles in the Triplicate.  


Letters to the Editor Oct. 2, 2014

No need to restructure Solid Waste Authority

Some time ago a supervisor was quoted in the paper (“Consultant report on Waste Authority draws mixed response,” April 4) saying that the Solid Waste Authority should function more as a utility than as a social change agent. During public comment at a Solid Waste Authority meeting, I spoke to share the school district’s experience, and to push back a bit at the idea that there is something wrong with a utility functioning to change behavior. 


Letters to the Editor Oct. 4, 2014

Fishermen made crab pot cleanup possible

It was very pleasing to read “fishermen getting credit for cleaning up coastal waters” in the sub-headline of Adam Spencer’s excellent and detailed story, “Pulling Pots,” in the Sept. 27 Triplicate.


Pages of History: Sanitarian takes on tough duty

From the pages of the Del Norte Triplicate, October 1952:

Sanitarian Joe Creisler is currently on a tour of duty in the name of a sweeter-smelling Del Norte — and a healthier one. He’s inspecting pit privies (also known as outhouses, etc.)


Letters to the Editor Sept. 30, 2014

Community won’t benefit from harbor fishing closure

First the harbor closed off a public access and tsunami escape route on the northeast corner of the parking lot. Now they are closing the inner boat basin to fishing. 


Letters to the Editor Sept. 27, 2014

Most California property owners aren’t paying Cal Fire annual fee

To the property owners in California who have been asked to pay an annual “fee” to Cal Fire, you can stand proud.


Letters to the Editor July 3, 2014

Supervisor Gitlin will be rewarded in heaven

Kudos to Roger and those who stand with him for holding firm to the ways of our Founding Fathers and to the belief in our Heavenly Father, who teaches us to bring all things to him in prayer.

 


Coastal Voices: Pedestrians, cyclists should watch for cars

Three feet for the safety of those on bicycles may be a nice idea. As a law, it’s not.

The article in Tuesday’s Triplicate also mentioned “distracted drivers” as a potential problem. Distracted drivers? What about distracted pedestrians?


Letters to the Editor Sept. 25, 2014

McElfresh would bring real change to Del Norte courts

Darren McElfresh is a good choice to vote for in the Superior Court judge race. I have lived in Crescent City 41 years and I have yet to meet a person running for a political office that has such an interest in the betterment of our community. His support for the youth and desire to get help for children and families are inspiring.


Letters to the Editor Sept. 20, 2014

Murray’s accusations were unsubstantiated

The recent article (“Murray calls out Gitlin,” Sept. 13) about City Council member Kathryn Murray’s charges against Roger Gitlin was disgusting on a couple of levels. She basically says Gitlin is anti-female based on what is probably a made-up alleged conversation with him and complaints by some “unnamed” women.

 


<< Start < Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next page > End >>

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use