>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google
Updated 4:21pm - Jul 26, 2016

Home arrow Opinion

Opinion


Letters to the Editor, May 19, 2016

Health professionals go above and beyond locally

Last week, we celebrated both National Nurses Week and Hospital Week – a dedicated time to recognize our devoted health care staff who provide care in so many ways. Having just joined Sutter Coast within the last month, it has been a pleasure getting to know everyone. I have been so impressed with the lengths our staff go to in order to provide quality care and that many of our team members have dedicated their careers to helping this community and have been at Sutter Coast for 10, 20 and even 35 years. I, along with our management team, would like to thank all of the health care professionals in our community that work to improve the overall health of Del Norte and Curry county families. 

Carlos Priestley, Sutter Coast Hospital Administrator


Letters to the Editor, May 17, 2016

Thanks to all who supported Wonder Bus 5K fundraiser 

On Saturday, May 7, over 40 people of all ages ran or walked the Mother of All 5Ks to show their support for the Wonder Bus. It was a wonderful community event, with strollers, dogs, and even one scooter taking part. Participants were greeted at the finish line by Del Norte High School’s steel drum band, and Ron Gastineau provided live commentary.


Letters to the Editor, May 14, 2016

Murray stands alone on council in support of ONR designation

Thanks go out to City Councilwoman Kathryn Murray. She is the only member of the (Crescent City) Council to stay the course regarding the city’s letter of support for ONR designation for our Smith River. She stood firm, disagreeing that such a designation could harm the local economy. This designation would eliminate the possibility of mining taking place in Oregon’s sections of the Smith River basin, thus helping to protect our drinking water supply.  

Murray is now running for County Supervisor District 1. Her opponent is Roger Gitlin. The two could not be more different.


Coastal Voices: ONRW would stop mining near Smith, permit requirements already in place

It is important for this community to realize the opportunity of designating the Smith River as California’s first river to be distinguished as an Outstanding National Resource Water. What are the benefits of this designation, and what are the concerns and fears of our community that need to be accurately assessed and addressed? That was the hot topic at the last Board of Supervisor meeting.


Letters to the Editor, May 12, 2016

McClure a champion for homeless vets

As a veteran, I am aware of Supervisor Martha McClure’s work to get housing for homeless veterans in Del Norte County. Martha has worked with VA officials in Curry County to secure veteran housing vouchers for our area. Martha’s work to help homeless veterans is why I am writing this letter.

 Supervisor McClure supports affordable housing for anyone in need. Housing is the long-term solution to the problem of homelessness, not just enforcement techniques and “party slogans.” The majority of experts advocate greater services for drug and alcohol addiction and the availability to mental health services to reduce homelessness and the social problems that follow.


Letters to the Editor, May 10, 2016

Volunteer with Corrections to help make a difference

As a mother I cannot understand for the life of me the reasoning behind our methods of prison punishment. It seems more logical to me to correct them with instruction, guidance, direction and positive reinforcement. The methods have been proven effective it’s just plain common sense to use it.


Coastal Voices: Cost-benifit of guardrail at U.S. 199 trouble spot

I recently took a drive on Highway (U.S.) 199. It had been about 25 years. The Smith River corridor’s beauty was as distracting as ever. Undoubtedly those distractions have led to a number of accidents over the years. Along with the usual causes, like speeding, DUI, etc., leading to single vehicle accidents along the route, I began to wonder why more guardrails were not placed along certain sections of the road like the one just past the 10 mile marker where too many have gone into the river.


Letters to the Editor, May 7, 2016

When Sutter Coast makes a promise, ask them for facts

Last week, I read that Sutter is finally agreeing to meet with Del Norte Healthcare District, which is an improvement on Sutter’s part. But Sutter’s latest statement is just another promise. Here are the facts: Sutter is still hiding its meeting records and ignoring the records requests made by our elected officials.

Four months ago, I wrote an article entitled “Let’s Shine a Light on Sutter’s Secrets,” available at triplicate.com. In my article, I asked CEO Mitch Hanna to end their secrecy. No one from Sutter responded. In fact, this year Mr. Hanna falsely claimed that Sutter Health owns Sutter Coast. Thankfully, the Triplicate published a story showing Mr. Hann’s claim was false.


Coastal Voices: What would my grandpa think of 2016

Twenty years ago, I wrote a column about my grandfather for the then Daily Triplicate. It was about a man, age 91, in the last month of his life. 

In the two decades since, I have met a surprising number of people who remembered that piece, acquaintances and strangers telling me how much my story reminded them of their grandparents. I visited a friend years later, and was surprised to find the column clipped out and taped to the refrigerator – about as high of honor a writer can receive, in my opinion.


Letters to the Editor, May 5, 2016

Solar Panels in harbor would be eyesore

In response to Bob Douglas of Smith River and the solar panels. We just moved here a few months ago from Central California. The beauty of the area was too much for us to resist.


<< Start < Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next page > End >>



Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2016 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use