>Crescent City California News, Sports, & Weather | The Triplicate

News Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Home arrow Opinion

Opinion


Chamber Chatter: McGuire to join Economic Summit

The 12th annual Economic Summit is just around the corner. Please join us Friday, April 10, at Elk Valley Rancheria, 2332 Howland Hill Road. Every year we try to bring you topics and speakers that are relevant and important to you as a community member, business owner, manager or professional. 

This year we are pleased to announce that Sen. Mike McGuire will be our keynote speaker. He will address the audience on how we can work together as a community to move our economy forward and what the future economic climate looks like for the state of California. 


Letters to the Editor April 2, 2015

City-owned properties in need of maintenance, too

After reading “Sidewalk care is in city code, but also right thing to do” (March 28), I think maybe it’s time Ms. Murray walks our downtown area and areas owned by the city. I think Ms. Murray needs to open her eyes. She could see the weeds growing in city sidewalks, tree wells and city-owned landscape areas. 

Budget time is coming. Maybe it’s time that the city hires two full-time park people to keep our downtown area looking nice. Currently we only have two people working in our parks, and they spend most of their time mowing the grass in the parks. 


Letters to the Editor March 31, 2015

Nation is reaping what it sowed in election

The Bible tells us in Galatians 6:7 “Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.” 

America is paying the price for electing a man who has no problem lying to the American people. He has no problem in insulting England by returning a bust of former Prime Minister Winston Churchill. On June 4, 2009, President Obama talked about America’s “faults” in Egypt. He did not visit Israel until March 20, 2013; while there he visited the West Bank (Palestinian Authority), indicating Israel was no better a friend to America than Muslim countries who state they want to eliminate Israel. In early June 2010 Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu was ushered into the White House through the back door; the president did not dine with the P.M., no press conference, and no photo op. This president has shown disdain for the leader of Israel from the beginning.


Coastal Voices: Klamath agreements crucial to farm survival

Last month, the Family Farm Alliance board of directors, by unanimous vote, formally supported the concept captured in recent Senate legislation to advance the settlement agreements developed for the Klamath River watershed. The Alliance is a grassroots, nonprofit organization that represents family farmers, ranchers, agricultural water purveyors and allied industries in the 17 Western states. We have long advocated that the best solutions to the challenges faced by Western irrigators come from the ground up, driven by local interests.

 


Coastal Voices: Troubled past gradually fades into memory

The bomb’s blast reverberated from the small TV, seeming to rattle the wall brackets that held it over my bed. As I turned sharply toward the crash, the pain flashed in shards of light from my neck through the top of my skull. The images of the buildings being blown to dust were real — as real as the cold, starched sheets that encased me and the cervical collar bracing the steel plate and screws an ER surgeon had hours before inserted into my broken neck. 


Pages of History: Sause bro's add to fleet

From the pages of the Del Norte Triplicate, March 1955:

Purchase of an additional barge for the Marine Ways and Dry-dock fleet serving Del Norte County was announced today by Paul Sause. 

The Winacca, a Navy type, flat-top cargo vessel of 2,000 tons net weight was recently bought from Hawaiian interests and the company had dispatched the tug Kokua to Honolulu to return it to the mainland.


Letters to the Editor March 24, 2015

Local law enforcement’s hard work is appreciated

Not many days ago there were many members of local law enforcement putting their lives at risk for public safety in Smith River.

Last weekend I saw the Highway Patrol out in force and making a lot of stops to enforce traffic laws in town.


Coastal Voices: What happens to costs under Critical Access?

In 2014, Sutter Coast Hospital applied for Critical Access Hospital designation while claiming the hospital had not been profitable since 2008 and projecting heavy losses through 2016. Both of those claims were later proven false. IRS filings confirm large profits for SCH in 2009 and 2010. On Feb. 27, hospital CEO Mitch Hanna stated 2014 was a “profitable year.” At this point you may be asking: Is Sutter more interested in profits or your health care? 

In an effort to resolve our community conflict with Sutter Health, I repeatedly requested meetings with Sutter Health CEO Pat Fry and Sutter Regional President Mike Cohill. Both men declined my request. So I contacted the state agency reviewing SCH’s Critical Access application and forwarded letters from numerous individuals and groups that object to Sutter’s proposed downsizing. Our community needs more health care, not less. 


Letters to the Editor March 21, 2015

Kids’ march against tobacco, drugs inspiring

March 18, 2015, has marked the second and now annual anti-tobacco march to City Hall, where kids held their handmade signs and marched through the streets of Crescent City to help spread awareness of the horrible effects of tobacco, alcohol and drugs and how they felt about it. The march started at Crescent Elk Middle School and ended at Tri-Counties Bank, with 238 students, 8–10 Reach for Success mentors, full A.S.P staff and a whopping 40 parent volunteers! 


Pages of History: Boy rescued after falling into harbor

From the pages of the Del Norte Triplicate, March 1955 and 1965:

An 11-year-old Crescent City boy, Lester Berry, was rescued from water near Citizens Dock when he fell in on Saturday, March 6. L.D. Subbert, an employee of the harbor district, was standing on the dock after skin diving when he heard the splash. He dove into the water and found the boy hanging onto a piling. 


<< Start < Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next page > End >>

Triplicate front page

Get home delivery of the Triplicate for only $7.94 a month. After filling out one simple and secure online form you could be on your way to learning more about your city, state and world than you ever have before.
subscribe


Del Norte Triplicate:

312 H Street
P.O. Box 277
Crescent City, CA 95531

(707) 464-2141
webmaster@triplicate.com

Follow The Triplicate headlines on Follow The Triplicate headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2015 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use