From the pages of the Crescent City American, December of 1928.
The improvement on Front Street, the contract having been recently let, reminds oldtimers of its condition years ago.
For a number of years, a great portion of Front Street was impassable for vehicles. From G to J streets, eastward, was open for traffic. At the corner of Front and G streets the driveway was only about 12 feet wide with a bank six or eight feet, the ocean coming up to it. From G to D streets, westward, the ocean had encroached many feet inland. Later a bulkhead was built from D to K streets, which prevented heavy seas entering business houses.
The street from K to D was finally filled with rock and dirt, which made a fairly good driveway, and now it is to be greatly improved from D eastward to N street, connecting with the Redwood Highway.
In the early days Front Street was the principal business section, starting at C Street and ending in swamps between D and E and F and G, it became the main line of traffic and business houses opened.
For many years there was no wharf here and freight was landed, in barges, on the beach at the foot of E street, and taken to warehouses where freight wagons and pack trains were loaded for interior points, as far inland as Jacksonville, Ore, and Yreka, Calif.