New members sworn in after wins in recent election

Retired law enforcement officer Rich Enea was appointed by his colleagues as Crescent City's new mayor Monday night.

Enea was elected to the City Council in 2010 and had been serving as mayor pro tempore.

"I'm looking forward to a good year with all of your help," Enea told the Council after he was chosen.

Meanwhile, Ron Gas-tineau, Rick Holley and outgoing mayor Kathryn Murray began their new terms as City Council members at the meeting.

Holley was appointed as mayor pro tempore.

County Clerk Alissia Northrup administered the oath of office to City Clerk Robin Patch, who also began a new term. Patch then swore in Gastineau, Holley and Murray after recognizing outgoing Councilwoman Donna Westfall.

While Holley and Murray are incumbents, Gastineau was the top vote-getter in the Nov. 6 election. Council seats went to the top three finishers; Westfall placed fifth.

According to Northrup, newly elected members of the local community service districts and water district are sworn into office in December.

New and returning members of the Del Norte County Unified School District Board of Trustees will be sworn in Dec. 13, said

executive assistant Linda Prouty. Frances Costello will serve a second term as District 3 representative. Judie Cordts takes over Jim Maready's District 4 seat. Maready retired, and Cordts defeated two other candidates for the open seat.

As for the Del Norte County Board of Supervisors, Martha McClure and Roger Gitlin will be sworn into office at noon Jan. 7, Northrup said. McClure was re-elected to represent District 2 in the June primary election. Gitlin defeated District 1 Supervisor Leslie McNamer in a run-off election Nov. 6.

Northrup will also administer the oath of office to returning harbor commissioners Wes White, Scott Feller and James Ramsey on Jan. 7. All three incumbents were victorious in November, fending off three challengers.

Reach Jessica Cejnar at